April ProgBlog #2: INFERNAL HAIR

in #aer2 years ago

I feel like it's an eternal struggle getting hair settings right.

Sometimes what feels like a slight movement in your hand makes for a huge settings change.

So it's generally a good idea to hold shift (which scales everything up so adjustments are a lot more gradual). Then I have these issues of why is it like this and why are there random patches of hair.

Or why it looks like it should work in particle edit mode but in object mode it looks completely different (with or without hair dynamics).

Screenshot_20220419_000633.jpg

Yeh so remember how I was mentioned the modifier stack in the last progblog and how things would be fine with the hair as long as I didn't have to mess around too much with it? Either the particle systems need to be on top (but under Armature) or all the display settings need to be the same forever (I usually have viewport settings at 0 or 1).

Ergh.

The other fun thing I learned was that it's generally a good idea to use vertex weight maps for at least density. Even though I had full strength white in my texture map, I wasn't getting decent head coverage unless I used a LOT of emitters (I was up to 100k before it started thinking about looking okay and this was still with a LOT of children each).

The weight maps doing the density and the texture maps making the shape a lot nicer than the weight maps were going to get with the topology I had worked wonders.

I will probably need to add more emitters (this is with the default of 1000 and default of 100 child hairs) as it's a bit sparse up the top which is why the top is so flat. And now I just have the usual problem of the child hairs are incapable of collision and I don't know how to fix it (I can't actually fix it as it's a Blender flaw, just have to figure out some workaround til new hair system drops).

The other thing I need to remember is to brush down first and then back, it works better than the other way round.

Meanwhile I thought I was further along on this thing than I was.

Needed to make some extra seams along the wings (I don't know how I completely forgot) which reset the positioning to the first tile (it was mildly inconvenient but I had forgotten to pin them and I needed an extra tile anyway) and then there was some epic battles with symmetry (they did get resolved, but of course I found out when packing and moving islands). The bits between the two sets of shoulders are really, really, really hard to get flattish (mostly because of how I ended up doing the retopology, it's a bit dodgy) but I don't think even my Maori characters have got tattoos around there.

It doesn't sound like much but I suck at unwrapping so that took way longer than it should have and I didn't end up nutting out the feathers like I wanted so that will hopefully be a mission for this week.

The tattoo continues to plod along steadily with the infilling of the left wing. I'm telling myself it's a 2d drawing so I don't get obsessive about symmetry.

As per usual it's taking longer than it should because it's so incredibly mind-numbingly tedious and boring that unless I'm in a meditative or otherwise able-to-focus mood, I'm bouncing around a lot between it and doing some other things that need to be done (some of them probably could be done relatively quickly if I would just sit down and do them but most of them are things that will take a while, one of them being sorting through the photo library x_x).

This post also appears on my blog.

Want a cameo character? If you interact frequently with me here (either on my posts or your posts or better yet both!) or on one of the linked Discord channels, all you have to do is let me know and tell me what you'd like :) Everything you need to know is (probably) here and if it isn't just ask (sorry the link goes offsite to my blog where the layout is how I want rather than the one here which is only here because the original one was).

Thanks for looking! ^_^

Fun Discord servers:

Hive Australia | Be Awesome | artbees | OnChainArt

-={ commission info | ko-fi }=-

Ask me nicely if you want an upgoat/cute critter footer.

Sort:  

So, ah, almost every screenshot looked terrifying. I had no idea hair had such a huge impact on whether I was scared of something or not.

Bahahhahahahahaha XD

In fairness to you there's slightly more Uncanny Valley here than usual as the eyes may still be a little bit big because anime (I'll have to see when I make the next one as to whether I did the adjustments to my base model before or after I started Gundry) as well as the hair being all wrong XD

It looks like hair is your nemesis @ryivhnn , good luck. It's eerily real towards the end the way the light catches the sheen of the hair.

I can't wait to see what you've made when it's done considering all the work it requires, but you must love it on some level eh? :) The tattoo is pretty cool as well.

Hair isn't actually my nemesis, retopo and rigging are XD And also uv mapping to a slightly lesser degree.

The only bad thing about hair is how ridiculously hard it is to style and animate. The developers are completley redoing the hair system though, seems like it's a really big job that's going to take a while and I 'm really looking forward to them finishing it up.

I can't wait to see me finishing stuff too, it's been way too long ^_^;

Thanks :D I do enjoy it on several levels :) though I have to say I actually really just like animating and that's pretty much all I put up with this other nonsense for XD

Congratulations @ryivhnn! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 38000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 39000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP