April ProgBlog 3: The Infernal Hair Continues

in #aer2 years ago

I thought I was on my last attempt. I was going to try a few more things, and then give up and make a million curve guides again and down the line nut out soft body on curves (I probably need to nut it out anyway).

The problem I was having was that it seems that regardless of whether or not the emitter (the entire character model in this case) was set to be a collision object or not, the hair would clip straight through it when I got it to drop.

Zara does not have this problem, but she also has very short hair which I put a non-zero pin goal strength on because it sticks up a little. This made it flop without cutting through the hair. So I decided to try the same thing with Gundry but despite a miniscule number (0.001), I still ended up with

The next option was going through and adjusting all the weights for the hair guides to be blue except for the root hairs and I didn't really feel like doing that (because there's a lot of control points). Because I didn't really feel like doing that I found some other settings to play with. These were the Structure settings which got bumped down a fair way from their defaults and produced

I think I can work with this.

Now I just have to figure out which edit type I'm supposed to use in Particle Edit mode. Bake from cache or whatever it's called makes the fallen version editable so I can neaten it up, however the hair completely vanishes in Particle Edit mode when the editing type is Particles which is what it needs to be on when combing hair when it hasn't been baked. As far as I can tell from quick research either of the other two options (Cloth and Soft Body) will work but I don't know if one or the other would be better for hair or if it's a purely visual difference.

What I found out a lot faster was that switching between them made Blender crash.

And there were also some other crashes which I'm pretty sure were related but I'm not sure how.

Not really anything worth showing with the Avian model, I'm reasonably certain that I have the uv map sorted now (I'll find out the hard way and fix it the hard way if I have to I guess). It hasn't changed from last time, I'm currently trying to work out how to manage feathers.

I had a rare decent session with the tattoo (rare because it's kind of tedious so finding focus can be difficult) and got half the wing done in one go.

Hoping to get another decent session in tonight (though I'm kind of really running late on that front as a few things came up).

This post also appears on my blog.

Want a cameo character? If you interact frequently with me here (either on my posts or your posts or better yet both!) or on one of the linked Discord channels, all you have to do is let me know and tell me what you'd like :) Everything you need to know is (probably) here and if it isn't just ask (sorry the link goes offsite to my blog where the layout is how I want rather than the one here which is only here because the original one was).

Thanks for looking! ^_^

Fun Discord servers:

Hive Australia | Be Awesome | artbees | OnChainArt

-={ commission info | ko-fi }=-

Ask me nicely if you want an upgoat/cute critter footer.

Sort:  

I quite like the crazy hair of the first!! But I can imagine everyone looking like am electrified lion might not it be the best!!

Although if she kept one like that, she could call it an homage to meesterboom 😁

LoL! Youngest was also under the impression that it looked like a cartoon character that had been electrocuted XD

I donno may have worked if any of this stuff was set in eras where big hair was popular XD

Like a universe of eighties power metal!!

Yes, it does look a little electrified. Ah well, at least it is most definitely hair however it looks!

Yay that's a win XD

Hair Hair!! :OD

Second pic the hair looks cool .... a Seventies rockstar !! Awesome job of the tattoo 🙃

Thanks! ^_^ I'm trying very hard for wavy hair XD

I have every faith you'll figure it out- even if I wouldn't have the first clue where to start XD

I will figure it out, just the length of time it takes to do so is aggravating ^_^;

LoL! You would absolutely be able to figure it out if you were into this kind of thing as well, it's one of those things where by the time you're mucking around with this kind of thing you're at a stage where you would have a clue where to start :D

Ohh looks difficult

It's not too hard to do, just hard to get right :D

You and this hair haha, well, definitely don't become a hair dresser as your side hustle lol. Actually all this is pretty amazing to me, so keep at it @ryivhnn

I will absolutely not become a hairdresser as a side hustle, that ends badly for all parties XD

Congratulations @ryivhnn! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Be ready for the 5th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2022

Congratulations @ryivhnn! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Be ready for the 5th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2022