January ProgBlog #3: glassy

in #aer3 years ago

The plane managed to land (rather heavily by the sound of things) despite the dubious weather on Christmas Island, and we made it back in the appropriate number of pieces just in time for what sounds like a proper lockdown, it seems.

Seriously though why do people insist on hoarding toilet paper.

Well, one week extra planning I guess, and I have to reschedule two appointments. The extra planning time will be helpful as I will probably need to actually have a work schedule again so I can learn the nonsense I need to figure out this hive front end silliness.

After unpacking and stuff I decided I was going to cruise over the weekend and tomorrow as J has the Monday off, and do art and mindless things. Mindless things included finally sorting through the digital photo collection (digikam made a bit of a mess so I have a lot of doubles, already cleaned up the library on the laptop as that's what's managing everything but as it's separate from the library on my server I had to do that too), figuring out where to hang pictures, actually hanging pictures and continuing to clean and sort through all the toys and kids' books.

I spent pretty much the entirety of yesterday and today just sorting through the photos.

I don't even want to think about sorting and scanning the analogue photos. That's a mission for another day that probably isn't anytime soon.

Working with textures (or with anything at all really) is strangely a hell of a lot easier on the big rig than the small rig. Got the transparency to display without crashing.

I need the transparency shader just for Eevee, the glass shader renders fine by itself in Cycles.

I'll probably have to tweak it to make it look more glassy when there's colours and furniture and some proper lighting so I can see what I'm doing, at the moment I can see through it and that's...pretty much it.

And I then used the glass texture to make some frosted glass blocks to let some light (to some value of light) into the bathroom (mostly for looks because the window will be under cover anyway).

Please excuse the fireflies, the quickie renders are messy because I only need to make sure things are going to turn out somewhat like I want. The "frosted" block just has a lot of roughness, nothing special. I should probably have just made the entire window one object but they're individual blocks just in case I need different sized glass blocks for different sized windows and so it doesn't look like I'm just resizing one object for everything x_x

I never claimed to be smart.

Other than that I've just made a utility/storage room which contains a laundry area (including sink), access to the hot water thingi and plumbing and also a battery wall. The rest of the area could probably have shelves or somesuch in it and I'm currently working on a ramp that will come down the walls opposite and adjacent the upper door to go up to the drying area.

I was just going to put some lines up in the utility room but then figured it might get pretty musty in there even with adequate ventilation so made a small top deck (which really isn't that small but the Flyers need exhorbitant amounts of space.

I may have to resort to stairs on the open side as I'm not going to be able to fit a safe ramp anywhere (at least it's still accessible). As well as clothes drying there will probably also be a small garden up there too.

I think I just have to nut out that area (and adding a vanity area to the bathroom as I just realised I still haven't done that yet) before deciding how big the minor and major living areas are going to be and then mirroring the lot.

Then will just have to do kitchen layout and it will be ready to clone.

Amusing fact: I told Sprat that I hadn't put a ceiling on because I'm worried about creepers spawning in XD (we all know I haven't put the ceiling on yet because I'm not done)

This post also appears on my blog.

Want a crowd character? If you interact frequently with me here (either on my posts or your posts or better yet both!) or on one of the linked Discord channels, all you have to do is let me know and tell me what you'd like :) Everything you need to know is (probably) here and if it isn't just ask (sorry the link goes offsite to my blog where the layout is how I want rather than the one here which is only here because the original one was).

Thanks for looking! ^_^

Come hang out on Discord with us!

#teamaustralia on PAL | ANZ | Be Awesome | artbees

-={ commission info | ko-fi }=-

Ask me nicely if you want an upgoat/cute critter footer.

Sort:  

I don't even want to think about sorting and scanning the analogue photos. That's a mission for another day that probably isn't anytime soon.

My mom has three to four decades of those. Every now and then she shares a photo of a photo via whatsapp.

“Ceci n’est pas un foto”

Read this post at full speed and am confused. Is this design for your place or your story world? :<)

That makes me really glad that I mostly have digital photos x_x between J and I we have a few years worth of analogue photos and I'm going to have tonnes of fun with the ones with no datestamp but we'll need to get another scanner first as ours is slowly dying if it's not already dead (I haven't used it for a while x_x).

J is still playing around with film cameras but at least the film development places now also send scans along with the prints XD

Why is it not a photo? XD Though that does sound nearly as bad as us telling clients we need full size photos for their website and they put it in a Word doc and enlarge it in that and then send the Word doc and we're like NO JUST SEND THE PHOTO STRAIGHT OFF THE CAMERA.

The design is for story world, the place is huge XD The floor squares (the ones that are actual squares) are 10x10m and Red (who you can just see on the landing in the third last photo because he probably blends in with the background in the solid shade mode) is a bit over 2m tall and probably about 4m wide with wings out if that helps with the scale :)

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

that is definitely a palace fit for a giant winged humanoid. What is your angle for the hive front end?

Four generations of giant winged humanoid to be precise XD This is only half of it x_x and then the rest!

My angle? Erm? Art site thing, it's for OCA.

!ENGAGE 20

awesome, I was hoping that was the case.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Wow! You're going next level :D
And yeah image and photo sorting can take forever :S

XD

Buildings are actually easier than characters ^_^; or at least quicker to block out. Now that I'm back on the big rig I should probably finish off the two characters while I remember that there's stuff to finish with the two characters (not that it's that big a deal as I'll figure it out pretty damn quick if I forget and go to use them and 3d is a rolling wip with me anyway).

Photo sorting is all done now, only took three days and two late nights (aka way more time than I thought or wanted it to but at the same time I kind of vaguely expected that, there were so many more freaking doubles than I thought there were >_<).

another thing I'm not wanting to look at is my project folder but that's another thing that will have to be done at some stage, probably when I'm having trouble finding things XD

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Congratulations @ryivhnn! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Next Hive Power Up Day is February 1st 2021

Congratulations @ryivhnn! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking