June ProgBlog #2: buttery

in #aer4 years ago

That's what Blender sculpt mode feels like at the moment.

I don't know whether it's because I found some settings that make me happy or whether I finally got the polycount down to something Blender is happier with (got it down to 3.5M from 3.7M after I decided to reduce the polycount in the wing membranes using super light dabs with the clay brush and it's been jumping mostly down as I continue reworking things and Blender remeshes everything I touch) or whether something has been going on under the hood as I swear every time Manjaro does a system update there's a new version of Blender in there somewhere (this may or may not be a slight exaggeration).

With a combination of these settings and possibly what I changed on the smooth tool (as I don't know if holding down the modifier that temporarily makes the current brush the smooth brush uses my settings or the default ones) I've been able to shape how I want and smooth the mesh more than I could in 3d Coat (honestly I don't know what I was doing wrong with 3dC, I was too scared to play with the brushes too much because I was too good at breaking things in there XD).

I've since dropped the flow rate to 0 because dots just annoy me for some reason.

Yes I mostly use the sculptdraw brush. I'm a terrible artist and a boring person XP

It's often taking a fair few goes over the same area to get things smooth. Above I'm working on the middle finger now, and have been going over the first section numerous times. It's only just thinking about starting to smooth out, as I think the autosmooth just gets very confused initially with how ragged everything is. The ring and pinkie haven't been touched too much yet (I have touched them a few times when a particularly high density knot especially in places that are really illogical has bugged me too much).

Then I remembered this mess (that is to say it leaped into my face when I zoomed out)

and decided rather than fix it to just version save from a previous version that didn't have this problem.

Constantly reworking things is pretty much the story of this project.

I forgot how dense the mesh was.

So I quickly dashed over the wing membranes with the simplify brush again to get some performance back.

I pretty much have to fix from the beginning again but I can use my butter settings everywhere now.

And that's what I'm doing.

I haven't been able to get a lot done this week as the bigs decided they were going to swap rooms. @pixietrix decided she really wanted to have a smaller room because she just did (major reason given, supporting reasons were along the lines of apparently the big room was too much of a hassle to clean, and she was in the big room because she was the one with art projects and later on the one doing Tiktok and stuff). @gorc had no problems whatsoever having the bigger room as it meant he could get more cat trees for his cats and his queen bed would fit a lot better in that room than it did in the smaller room (it fit fine in the smaller room, just didn't leave room for anything other than his clothes storage and computer).

They did most of the work and I helped move the heavy furniture and to reassemble @gorc's bed. And they've left out a lot of stuff which they've either forgotten or didn't want, so guess who has to sort that.

It is something that has needed to be done for a very long time but I didn't want to do it because doing that meant not doing this XD I decided to take today off after working on the sorting and culling last couple of days and have a goal of trying to process at least one box a day over the next few days. That combined with I think we can go back to normal homeschooling this coming week as all the group activities are resuming means I'll probably not have as much time to work at least til the sorting and reorganising is done, so progblogs will probably be slow and boring for a while yet.

This post also appears on my blog.

Want a crowd character? If you interact frequently with me here (either on my posts or your posts or better yet both!) or on one of the linked Discord channels, all you have to do is let me know and tell me what you'd like :) Everything you need to know is (probably) here and if it isn't just ask (sorry the link goes offsite to my blog where the layout is how I want rather than the one here which is only here because the original one was).

Thanks for looking! ^_^

Come hang out on Discord with us!

#teamaustralia on PAL | ANZ | Be Awesome | artbees

-={ commission info | ko-fi }=-

Ask me nicely if you want an upgoat/cute critter footer.

Sort:  

Yes I mostly use the sculptdraw brush. I'm a terrible artist and a boring person XP

I mostly use a very basic PS brush xD It's much easier to control than all fancy brushes and already used to it :D
Nice progress with the fingers ^_^

LoL XD

I don't really see anything wrong with using just the one brush, was just mildly poking fun at a recollection from a very long time ago of reading derogatory things being said about digital artists never changing what brush they use, and I thought that was pretty mean as I've seen heaps of good work done with just one brush or palette knife.

Even when I started out I always used two brushes (hard edged brush for flats and soft edged brush for shading) and ever since then I've kind of gotten carried away x_x

Screenshot_20200619_103705.png

These ones get used extensively for sketchies and proper drawings/illustrations/whatever one wants to call them, and I infrequently dip into the rest of the brushes (of which there's a lot, I'm trying to at least stare down brushpacks I find on dA to see if they have anything new/interesting in them rather than just automatically odwnloading them XD) as needed.

I wonder if there's nasty things said about people who use too many brushes or if that's somehow okay? XD

I don't actually care, occasionally I get curious about stupid random things but not curious enough to actually bother checking XD

Ohh I haven't heard that before, actually the opposite D: To use less brushes and focus on painting since a special brush won't save a bad painting.
Once a year I try to organize brushes that I have and download new ones and look for any special ones I like xD I rename ones I like and save them as tools, I got used to using tools instead of brushes actually.
This is a good collection of brushes and really organized :D Nice preview of what is what ^^

This is certainly true, I have told people that while better tools (everything from brushes to an entire computer) can help make good things better they definitely won't make bad things good, that part is entirely up to them XD

I love Krita's popup palette XD though I don't use the colour picker in there enough as the linux version for whatever reason doesn't register the tablet right click reliably (never had this problem on MacOS or Windows) so I usually have to click in the layer panel before right click on the canvas will work, so I usually only use it to grab my favourite brushes quickly. I also didn't organise them, all I did was tag them as needing to go into the popup palette and Krita organised them however it organises things, it's very convenient.

I don't know what the difference between tools and brushes is regardless of the app because I only use a tiny portion of Krita xD (well with Krita the tools are on one side and the brushes are on the other side and that's probably about as much difference as I can get).

天啊! this is great but my computer would explode if I try to open that model in it 🤣 Only with about 600.000 polygons it is going slowly. What type of computer do you recommend for it? Do you use a graphics tablet?
Why your model have a lot of triangles? why not square? What is the difference and advantage of them? I think it depends on the final function you want. ornot? maybe for a rendering it is very suitable because it generates more details but maybe with the animation it doesn't.

excuse me so many questions i'm so excited about learning 3d models 😅😅

No worries, will help if I can XD

I recommend getting the best computer you can afford at the time and immediately saving up for the next one as soon as you get it XD I bought mine maybe 5 years ago I think, hurt my poor bank account (no debts, I saved up for it, just drained my savings account) and only just recovering now so of course I'm planning on upgrading the parts (this is the first time in a long time I've bought a non-Mac computer, I'm glad I have my computer shop up the road as I don't enjoy building computers anymore).

I'm currently using a Intel Core i7 (4Ghz whatever that means XD) with 32Gb ram and a GEForce GTX980 with...somewhere between 4 and 12Gb onboard ram, I honestly can't remember. I got it for the cuda cores. Bought it specifically to be able to handle 3d work which it does pretty well.

I do use a graphics tablet, it's probably only really useful for sculpting where the pressure sensitivity really helps. With the other modes it doesn't make a difference whether you use tablet or mouse, it's a case of whichever is more comfortable for you.

This is a sculpt mesh which uses triangles. I don't know the technical reasons why, just that it's triangles in both 3d Coat and Blender when you're sculpting XD I'll retopo over it with quads later once I have the form right and got all the normal details that I want to bake.

I'm currently using an Intel Core i7 (4Ghz whatever that means XD) with 32Gb ram and a GEForce GTX980 with...somewhere between 4 and 12Gb onboard ram, I honestly can't remember. I got it for the Cuda cores. Bought it specifically to be able to handle 3d work which it does pretty well.

Now that's a kick-ass system. I would still probably install AOE and PVZ. And write movie posts in them.

Just came down here to say 'Hi'.
"HI."

And saw that I wasn't following you so I fixed that.
And I see you are busy with your head-verse.
By for now. I will bother you later.

Hi Nukey :D

It is not a bad system at all, does the job when it doesn't freeze XD (I should stop teasing the poor system as it's been pretty good lately)

You'll probably need a different graphics card if you're going to be gaming, this one can be used for gaming (to some value of gaming, I only play Minecraft now) but as I said I got it for the cuda cores XD

I'm always busy with the head-verse XD

That's the beauty you see. With AOE and PVZ you don't need graphic card at all. :-D

And I am not the shooting type gamer I am more of a RPG gamer. FPS is too much to handle. The counter strike used to get me dizzy with its weird maps. And my brain is like, you can't fit in there and or jump that high or shoot from that angle. :-D

It am more of a I am god and I control everything this plant goes in water. :-P

Didn't even know you could get PvZ on a computer, only ever played it on my phone and only seen the youngest one playing Garden Warfare on his computer XD

Everyone has different game preferences, I did play fps previously but much preferred rts and rpg and the isometric top down shenanigans of Diablo. And the ones where you're god and control everything XD

Thank you for your recommendations and sharing your experience @ryivhnn , I had not considered doing 3D modeling and even less buying an computer xD. But now I really have to do a good job in order to save and buy one that allows me to play with the models very smoothly 😄

It all sounds very complicated to me. As long as you get the results you are looking for, that's the important thing. Lol.

That's...usually why I end up redoing things ad nauseum XD to get the results I'm looking for :D

Those fingers are like little penises.

Sorry, couldn't help myself!

Screenshot_20200613-141600_Chrome.jpg

I think his name is Edward.

I can already see that scene in my head,

Hug me?

I can't...

Cue much waggling of penis fingers. Lolz!

Oh goodness that would have turned out to be a very different movie XD

I expected nothing less from you ;D

and honestly when I was reworking them I was thinking the same and going everyone is going to notice and someone is going to say something and it will probably be boomy

You would have loved seeing the base models in the early phases XD I was pretty sure I had screenies saved from those ridiculous times but when I went looking for them alas they were not there, so I'm not sure if I'm just remembering incorrectly (thought I'd done screenies when I hadn't) or if I've lost them in one of the many computer transplants that has happened over time. There were soooooooooooooo many dodgy looking things especially when doing tails. JJ would sometimes just give me an odd look as he went past and I'd be like THAT'S NOT WHAT YOU THINK IT IS.

THAT'S NOT WHAT YOU THINK IT IS.

That had me scorfling with laughter! hahahah, ah, I tried to hold back but I thought I would be doing you a disservice if I didn't say! :O)

XD glad to be somewhat amusing :D

Oh yes indeedy!! 🤣🤣

Here's a NOT WHAT YOU THINK IT IS just for you.

Screenshot_20200616_120011.png

I'm just trying to fix the ridiculously long Dragonkin tail XP

Screenshot_20200616_121312.png

3d Coat doesn't handle thin areas very well so it made a bit of a mess plus I had to move the tail down and make it thicker as it was anatomically incorrect even on an anatomically unlikely body structure and looked like it might snap off under its own weight

I can't speak!!!

I CAN'T SPEAK!!!! FISTING!!! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Looks like you are really getting the 'hand' of sculpting in Blender. I am sure we watch lots of the same Youtube channels and how to use it. My computer sculpting need
loads of practice but it is something I should be doing more of. By the way, have you seen the new Zbrush core mini?

Pffffffft XD

I don't actually watch video tutorials unless it's an absolute last resort thing (can't figure it out myself and can't find any text/image tutorials) as I generally fail at retaining information from them (mild audio processing issues exacerbated by lack of sleep and an irrational irritation at having to scrub through to look for the specific thing I want because I don't want to watch the whole bloody thing and often finding it's not covered doesn't help XD).

If you have time and it's important to whatever you want to do then maybe. There's heaps of things I should be doing (like reading and watching things apparently, because that's among the bazillion and one things people who want to be writers and film makers are supposed to do daily like there's absolutely nothing else that needs to be done in life) but don't because time :)

I have not as I don't really look at other things unless I need to (aka something in my workflow is making me unhappy, I got 3dC because at the time it was better than Blender sculpting and also the retopo tools were magical and the painting is still better by orders of magnitude) and my sculpting tools are pretty good at the moment. Something you're planning on getting? :)

That is very true, Tutorials can help sometimes but it is better to just get stuck in and muddle your way through. You can get more original results that way.
The new Zbrush if a free simplified version to get you started in 3d sculpting. I know you are way beyond this but it may be good for your children to play with if they ever get the inclination.

Think it depends on the person. Some people like to learn everything they need to know before getting stuck in (and hopefully slowly realise that in the case of Blender it's a LOT XD). I did start out like that as I wanted to be "good" before I got stuck into my main project but decided to just get better on the main project or it's never going to get done XD

it's never getting done as is x_x

Wow 😍 Looks cool! And complex.

The room swap sounds like a good deal for @gorc and kitties.

Hows the culling going? You done yet? Weve been trying to tidy up and cull things but feels like it's a never ending process 🤦🏻‍♀️

Sculpting is generally pretty easy once you get past the navigation. It only looks complex when you turn the wireframe on ;D

Nowhere near done x_x I have been doing an amazing job avoiding it for the last decade and the room swap has kind of forced it (well to some degree of "forced" I could just pile it onto the existing pile and continue ignoring it but thought I'd better do it even if it is excruciatingly slowly).

It's like that eh?

If you're on Facebook try listing it on Fb Marketplace. I got rid of a huge rug that way. I listed it as free and it was gone in a couple of hours.

I've seen people take pics of piles of stuff saying everything for $(insert amount here) and to dm for address.

Maybe they can do the sorting for you?

I have a lot of sorting to do before I can even get to that stage XD

Not on Facebook. Trying to decide whether I'm going to bother with Gumtree or just get J to drop things an an opshop, though I've heard they're overwhelmed with stuff probably because no one can be bothered doing Gumtree and either and like me just wants whatever they're culling gone right this second and they don't care if it eventually ends up in landfill anyway if opshops decide they can't move it along XD

👋 Hi @ryivhnn, I was flipping through the blockchain and stumbled on your work! You've been upvoted by Sketchbook / a community for design and creativity. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon.

Join the Sketchbook Community

Congratulations @ryivhnn! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 27000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 28000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Awesome!.. breaking things is the best way to learn :)

Donno about the best but it seems to be the best way I learn x_x lol