March ProgBlog #1: in which I kind of remember I have a schedule for a reason

in #aer2 years ago

But then sometimes something demands a lot of attention and you need to hyperfocus on that sometimes to the detriment of everything else.

No, you don't get that? It's just me that has this problem?

Drat.

I continued having a lot of distraction working on all the roleplaying notes, finally getting to a stage where I felt somewhat comfortable running the last session of the "extra" group prelude despite missing notes for Vampire and Werewolf, and then that ended up falling through anyway as one of the players had an unexpected thing come up. Least I got to write the story notes up properly and continue with the cheatsheet, which I'm kind of vainly hoping I will finish for at least player characters by this weekend x_x

Less cram for that did mean I actually got some other work done for a change.

UASG is slightly stuck, but it could be because when I start getting to the end of something I start freaking out about all the things I could have missed. Feet are happening though.

I need to find some paint to put on this chain I have on my desk so I can wrap it around my arm and see what kind of pattern it makes.

And then I have to work out whether I want to normal map it (which was vaguely what was requested by my young friend but will require forking the model as I would then be sculpting ) or bump map it (won't look quite as good if extreme close up is required but won't need forking the model as I can just remove it from the node mess).

Then I can figure out clothing and items. My "budding" (currently extremely minimal) asset library is already starting to come in handy (doing clothes for Yue felt unusually fast because I have generic long pants).

AER moved a little bit, I figured out how to bake the tattoos onto the new model (and will be able to fix the low res problem bits, the new uv map is definitely better than the old one) which was basically the same process as baking normals (though I use UDIMs now so it's a different button)

I tried to isolate the two image maps I have (a colour map and...well technically it's another colour map but I use it with an overlay node to make it a shadow layer) so I can have the same setup as I currently have. The render view amused me.

The transparency got baked as black (which is a thing that happens) and I was too dumb to figure out how to make black transparent in the nodetree (I know it can be done and I have actually done it before but the method I used before that I double checked in a test didn't want to work) so I just went the manual edit. It may have been quicker to do it in Krita as far as purely removing the black background goes but while I'm here I'm also fixing up shapes a bit, especially around where things warped and look very pixellated in the low res areas of the original map.

Had to use the normal end of the pen with the eraser brush as using the eraser end made it glitch out on occasion and made it keep marking where it shouldn't have been.

For the shadow layer I haven't worked out if I'm going to invert the colours so I can see what I'm doing and then use an invert node to get it back to the colour it's meant to be in the tree, or leave it the colour it's meant to be and do a white background (which in this case just means deliberately colouring the model pure white). Tending towards the latter just so I don't need to shove in another node (I don't know if it makes a difference in the grand scheme), both methods are going to end up in the same place of manual editing.

I'm also assuming I'll have to do the same thing with the scars but they at least have less fiddly edges x_x

And I still have the gloss map to do but at least they can get painted on the nice uv (to some value of nice).

Moral of the story: get the uv maps right first.

But at least I'll be able to reuse the tattoo now as all the models should have the same uv layout (and if I find that they don't for whatever reason, I can fix that).

This post also appears on my blog.

Want a cameo character? If you interact frequently with me here (either on my posts or your posts or better yet both!) or on one of the linked Discord channels, all you have to do is let me know and tell me what you'd like :) Everything you need to know is (probably) here and if it isn't just ask (sorry the link goes offsite to my blog where the layout is how I want rather than the one here which is only here because the original one was).

Thanks for looking! ^_^

Fun Discord servers:

Hive Australia | Be Awesome | artbees | OnChainArt

-={ commission info | ko-fi }=-

Ask me nicely if you want an upgoat/cute critter footer.

Sort:  

There you are @ryivhnn haha I always feel like I lose track of people another Hiver and I were saying we wish there was more of a way to stay connected on hive, maybe there is? but if so, I'm rubbish at it haha.

I'm amazed you get done what you do as the level of detail you need for these characters is amazing, so I hope you get more time to keep at it. I hope all is good with your bit of the world as well @ryivhnn

How do you mean "stay connected"?

If you mean you're losing people who don't post daily on a very busy feed, there are lists you can use (if you're on peakd, I'm not sure about other front ends). If you mean by being able to on-site chat with them while you're both on...well I did try that but I don't have the attention span for yet another comm thing ^_^; (there is a chat thing on peakd)

I really don't help myself with my lack of organisation but it's bit the bane of my existence forever ^_^;

I don't technically need the level of detail I go too (like on one of the characters I'm working on I'm obsessing about making the feet look good even though I'm reasonably certain they're going to be in boots 98% of the time and if not there are unlikely to be close ups but then again given that it's anime and anime in general seem to be extremely fond of the close up of feet walking somewhere or turning around and walking off who knows what could happen XD

All is good over here, could be better but definitely could be a lot worse (I'm hoping it doesn't get a lot worse x_x).

How have you been? I've been glancing in at your posts on my way past but my lack of organisation and having a bit pile up has been making me skip through hive pretty quick lately.

Congratulations @ryivhnn! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 400 posts.
Your next target is to reach 450 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2022
Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 28

Congratulations @ryivhnn! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Today is the beginning of a new Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2022