November ProgBlog

in #aerlast year

I got a little busy. Some of it was getting overexcited about my notes (which is so far working wonderfully), a lot of it was comp season, some of it was basically being told to upskill because apparently they need me to upskill which I went ahead and did as I had been intending on doing it anyway (just fast forwarded as the plan had been for next year, and hopefully it won't turn out to have been a waste of money as I may have been shadowbanned), some of it was getting swept up in roleplaying notes (I get really excited about worldbuilding and trying to craft stories around my players' characters) including the CoD PvP PbP Discord server (very slow because I still need to read books so can't get 17yo's Hunter started, and C who got started is taking his sweet time responding, and T and S who are idling on that server haven't even made characters yet, I don't think these kids are the best at pbp XD) and a newly created Pokemon server (playfully referred to as Pkmn PvP PbP but is actually called Frontiertown and I have beeen having way too much fun coming up with character names) where I'm attempting to test out a system I wrote (also very slow as none of the three players I have in there have made a character yet).

Which ran into a bunch of crap that never should have happened and then into KaiCon where I somewhat unexpectedly ended up and even more unexpectedly found Zara's bladestaff (I don't think that's what it's called, just what I call it, I don't know what it's actually called).

I may or may not have accidentally bought it.

I think hers have got more simple metal bits. And sharp edges.

I also got slightly burnt out and my brain didn't want to function much in between all that so I was either not working at all or had made such incremental changes that it didn't look like I had done anything, and in fairness, redoing the hair to the new hair system is one of those things where a lot is different under the hood but not much is different visually.

Now the difference here is that I bought a node tree as I was too cranky to get too in-depth into learning geonodes (I figure that like with shader nodes, I will pick it up eventually, but for now I really just want to get things done more than constantly trying to figure out how to do them the way I want them done), and will just have to figure out how to animate them.

The cool thing with the new hair system is that I was able to just draw everything straight on rather than messing around with texture maps and completely out of control child hairs.

And I also did the glowy eyes thing while I was about it. "Cheated" with an Emission node again.

It took me literal days to get that screenie as my computer kept crashing while trying to render. I was initially using the node system I bought for the hair for the eyebrows and eyelashes as well (what's in the earlier screenie) but that node tree seems to be missing the Deform Curves on Surface node. I did slip it into the end of the node tree before the group output but there were some oddities happening with the deformation that I wasn't sure how to deal with so I just popped out this massively simplified thing with no child hairs instead.

This did help me to realise that the giant node tree that the hair was using is what's causing Rigify to become unusably laggy, as previously I had to viewport disable all the hair systems to get realtime back, but with that barebones node tree on the eyebrows and eyelashes (both separate systems) I can have both of those active and still do Rigify, but turning on the hair and the crest (two separate systems, both using the big node tree) cripples everything again.

No huge deal to turn it off though.

I would love to show how I'm redoing the head feathers (and by extension the feathers that will get particle instanced onto the wings) using polygons and whining every step of the way (I can do half-decent polygon feathers, I just overwhelmingly prefer how hair feathers look) but at some stage Blender crashed and while I am absolutely dead certain that I had in fact saved multiple times much further along than where it recovered when I restarted it, Blender thought otherwise.

I then stopped project work completely as the end of year stuff continued to pile up relentlessly, including the usual photobooks.

There's two of them to do (one for each set of grandparents, using slightly different sets of photos as the outlaws have more grandkids). Doing them gave me this idea for something else which I'm putting off til next year as I would need several stars and planets to align to pull it off for this year. Hoping to get them done really, really soon (by early December if not in the next couple of days by some miracle) so I can get back to the main project and the couple of requests waiting in the wings and hopefully have at least one December Progblog.

This post also appears on my blog.

If anyone is wondering about the double watermarked images, I typod the mogrify which apparently made it run partway before erroring out or something I donno, and I didn't make copies of the originals because this doesn't usually happen and I didn't feel like redoing all those screenies at this time of night. The first two images I had copies of and the last one was a very recent screenie of something I'm working on right now so I could take it again.

Want a cameo character? If you interact frequently with me here (either on my posts or your posts or better yet both!) or on one of the linked Discord channels, all you have to do is let me know and tell me what you'd like :) Everything you need to know is (probably) here and if it isn't just ask (sorry the link goes offsite to my blog where the layout is how I want rather than the one here which is only here because the original one was).

Thanks for looking! ^_^

Fun Discord servers:

Hive Australia | Be Awesome | artbees | OnChainArt

-={ ko-fi }=-

Ask me nicely if you want an upgoat/cute critter footer.

Sort:  

Nice sword. My son is all about them now that he started to play Zelda. Probably a different game but it is great to see his passion and yours.

With the hair node. is it not possible to bake it down once generated to give you a speed increase?

Swords are great XD I prefer the lighter ones that you can dance around with but the giant hefty ones still require some degree of finesse to use well.

Which Zelda game is he playing?

I do baking after physics which for hair I'd do after animation so not really going to help me in this case ^_^; and at this stage I'm not even sure if the new hair system can be animated never mind baked x_x (had a very brief look online not that long ago and results then were mixed)

He his playing Zelda breath of the wild and loving it. The poor thing has Covid and chicken pox. So lots of time free and I'm trying to keep him busy as I do housework.

Fantastic combination. Hopefully he's burned most of his bad luck now and will have a very fortuitous rest of his life XD

I've heard good things about Breath of the Wild (but have otherwisee never really played any Zelda games), that's an open world right? I love open world, but because of that I ended up pretty much exclusively playing ttrpgs XD (and the online version, though I'm having a lot of trouble kickstarting/continuing the ones that I've started x_x)

Woah you have been busy! Only recently have i really digested what you get up to in detail! And it's a bunch.n

Not busy enough I feel, I'm still struggling to get stuff done XD I guess there is a lot of it ^_^;

I love that you found and "accidentally" bought the blade staff. 😆 I guess it couldn't be helped; after all, what were the chances of coming across it in the physical?

I've found some online when I looked (and I called it "bladestaff" because that's the search term that got me what I needed) but yeh up until that day had never seen any in person, even back when I used to go to weapon shops regularly.

Added bonus it was in my price range otherwise I think I would have been a bit sadder XD So now I just get to be sad about the fact that I haven't had a chance to play with it yet as everything is stupidly busy atm x_x

Just checking in, I've been slammed by busyness the past month...hahaha, I just now realized why business is called that!

That's a cool blade staff! My stepson Josh was totally into swords and Katanas when he was a teen, had them displayed on his wall :)

Hope you're having a merry Christmas season!

LoL seems legit XD running businesses is hard work though x_x

It is pretty cool! And after I got it there was such a pile of shenanigans that I still haven't played with it properly yet ^_^;

It's crazy busy, I'm not sure if it's calming down or if it's a false lull before more action though XD How's yours going? :)

Congratulations @ryivhnn! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 11
Be ready for the last Hive Power Up Month of the year!
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2022

Congratulations @ryivhnn! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 12
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-11 - Winners List
Be ready for the last Hive Power Up Month of the year!

Dear @ryivhnn,
Your support for the current HiveSQL proposal (#138) is much appreciated but the proposal will expire soon!
May I ask you to review and support the new proposal so HiveSQL can stay free to use for the community?
You can support the new proposal (#247) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

Dear @ryivhnn,
Your support for the current HiveBuzz proposal (#199) is much appreciated but the proposal will expire soon!
May we ask you to review and support the new proposal so our team can continue its work?
You can support the new proposal (#248) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

Dear @ryivhnn,
Your support for the current HiveBuzz proposal (#199) is much appreciated but the proposal will expire soon!
May we ask you to review and support the new proposal so our team can continue its work?
You can support the new proposal (#248) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!