Get Woke - Go Broke - AirBnB Edition

in #airbnb4 years ago

I joined AirBnB as a host in 2012 in Israel and Australia, which was very early in their international expansion.
They sent around a professional photographer to take photos of my Jerusalem apartment.

For many years I made good money using their services but in the last few years I found them increasingly intrusive in their policies and annoyingly Woke! in their politics - which they increasingly mixed with their business.

I made the deliberate decision a few years ago to stop doing short term rentals because I was unhappy with how they had far they had deviated from air mattresses on the floor origins to expecting every rental to be a 5 star hotel complete with nanny state "trust and safety" requirements that were not mandatory in my jurisdiction.

Last night I got this email which was the last straw for me.

image.png

Forcing dangerous and counterproductive mask wearing requirements down my throat on pain of not being able to take reservations.

Well I cancelled my account and will never be using them again.

Just like Facebook, where I was also an early adopter and an early abjurer, these big tech companies have got too powerful, arrogant and think they can force their politics on everyone else.

Well they will soon learn- GET WOKE - GO BROKE!

Given how the COVID hysteria has severely damaged their business you'd think they'd be trying to not piss long standing customers off.

It interesting how so many people in Crypto and on Hive were early adopters of what we now call Big Tech, and so many of us early adopters have left and moved onto greener, decentralised pastures.

Sort:  

Governments around the world are showing how stupid and corrupt they are. The Emperor has no clothing (except a mask).

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment

I completely understand and agree with what you're saying, but I don't think mask wearing is "woke". Anti-prejudism, anti-poverty, etc, is woke. Things somewhat related to SJW. Not fake news covid stuff.