Remember the Byteball - Gbyte (Now called "Obyte") Airdrop to all Steem Accounts?

in #airdrop3 years ago (edited)

Well, I'm not here to suggest you sell or buy, all I am trying to do is to make you aware of all the activity going on with Obytes.

The price in the past days has gone from $50 US to over $150 US, to about $100 (at the time of writing this post).

The activity on the buy and sell side has increased "a lot" in comparison to what was over the previous months.

So if YOU got the airdrop back a few years ago and forgot all about it, you may want to revisit Obyte (formerly Gbyte).

HOWEVER:

Remember, that 50% was in liquid and 50% was locked up for 12 months in a smart contract.

Now, if you have since then removed your wallet, or changed PCs, phones etc, you must resort to your backup. (You probably did make a backup and save it "somewhere safe".)

If you still have an old version of the wallet on your apparatus then you may need to go and update one by one from that version. I'm not saying you "have to", it could be the case. It was for some people with a very old version of the Obyte wallet.

Either way, since the airdrop, your smart contract locks are now Unlocked. So those locked up balls are now free and available to you to do with as you wish.

Here are the relevant links for this:

Github: https://github.com/byteball

Website: https://obyte.org/

& YES, there is an active Discord community too:

https://discord.com/invite/Qn6JWfT

If this link doesn't work for Discord, go to the website, scroll down to the bottom of the site and click on the Discord link. (I checked it, it works!)

Either way, to everyone and anyone who got the airdrop back a few years ago, all I am saying is "keep and eye out on Obyte" seems to be a lot more activity there than what meets the eye!

Take a peep and check it out for yourself.

image.png

Sort:  

What? Think I got that... Ohhhh thanks!!!!

Excellent.

There were literally millions of dollars worth of Gbyte airdropped to our community members.

I wonder how much of that crypto is laying out there "forgotten"!

Hive is ALIVE!

Yep... Yeah I squatted on it.

And should be able to find that wallet I think. Next is finding out how to move it.

Looks deleting the wallet lost it all.
.sucks. oh well who cares I guess.

You may have a backup saved somewhere, which if that is the case, simply install the wallet from the site and upload the (backup) file.

If you don't have a backup, idk if you can recover the funds, might be a question for the Obyte crew in their Discord server.

Yeah they are were no help. Shrug. Whatever. Oh well. Who cares. I'll just move on. No sense crying over lost crypto.

if you haven't already search for "byteball" and "ByteballBackup"

Honestly I'm disgusted with it all. Shrug. It can go into the garbage for all I care. I'll just do me

Thanks for the reminder! Every now and then I’ve thought about this airdrop and the whereabouts of my wallet. Hopefully, I can dig it out as I still have the laptop I used to claim the drop 😁

Love it!

Glad that the word is getting out and that our community assets are not forgotten.

We can't change the fact that neither stinc or the Gbyte devs back then didn't make much better use of the potential this offered both chains and communities, but we sure can make sure that what our community members own (in crypto) is not left out there and lost into the world "cyberspace black holes" like all those BTC that are lost for ever.
& don't hesitate to contact the Obyte crew in their Discord, every time I did, no matter if it was for me or for someone else, there were always people there willing and able to help out.

Cheers.

Well it looks like mine have fallen into this black hole 😢 searched my old laptop and came back with nothing. I’ll give it another go but looks like it’s lost. Hope others have better luck.

Yeah, sleep on it.
You may have saved the backup on a stick somewhere or maybe you used a mobile phone and not a PC, who knows.

We've all been in your shoes and all it takes is to "not think about it" for a day or two, then the lightbulb lights up above the head and 'What do you know, it's there!".

You most likely have that backup saved somewhere safe, so safe that even you yourself can't find it!

You most likely have that backup saved somewhere safe, so safe that even you yourself can't find it!

You wouldn’t believe how much this happens to me 🤪

I like your optimism. Fingers crossed as I could do with after seeing the markets this morning 🤯

OK, at the risk of someone thinking that I am one of those "supremacist" or "stuck up AH's".

Here is an image of how the backups will look.

image.png
Note: I distorted the last four numbers of the files, which will be in the following format:
56-47 (two numbers dash two numbers)
Just me being my silly self and pretending to "know what I am doing" :)

THE ONLY REASON I AM PUTTING THIS UP HERE

is to maybe help "jolt your memory" or so that you don't skip over them while frantically looking through folders and files.

I KNOW THAT YOU KNOW HOW THEY LOOK

The point of this is to just put a "mental image" of the files and their names, so that you don't do like WE ALL do and skip over the files.

Man, I swear I do not like "text" as there is always someone out there who reads things the wrong way, even when trying to help someone out.

As I definitely feel your pain in this moment of looking for a ruddy file on a PC.

Fingers crossed, hope this helps.

if you haven't already search for "byteball" and "ByteballBackup"

Really appreciate your help with this and you may have given me a good lead. I've been typing in gbyte, and not byteball! I'll give this another go tonight. Thank you very much

Oh man, I am getting so close. I’ve found 3 files from 2018 but one is empty(no previous versions to load) and the 2 other files won’t load up 🤯. I’ve still got the problem of finding the password too and remembering the email it was attached to. I do enjoy a challenge though 😎

Thanks for this. I still have the App on my Mac and it works.

Old habits die hard. Still got that "witness" trait in me of trying to make sure I use the appropriate channels of communications to ensure the "average Joe" is made aware of what is going on around them.

From what I have gathered, there is a high probability of there being millions of dollars worth of crypto out there among the people and more importantly, from what I have gathered in 101 chats, many are not even aware of it!

Now as a non witness, I guesses "a post" is the appropriate way of relaying the current affairs/info that are relevant to so many people/stake holders out there.

idk, my "blogging skills" may not be up for a fencing match with "professional bloggers", but then again, who cares, we are who and what each and every one of us are, so I'll just do it my way and que sera sera!

Just looked into the past and found

image.png

Looks strange with that double komma

What is the value of this??

You have it set to show "Bytes" and not "Gbytes".

So you have 2 * 0.328775353 Gbytes.

and you will need to click on the smart contract amount and transfer it to the regular wallet (the above figure).

So as to be able to send it to Bittrex (if you so choose to do)

will test this later on today....

Thx and a !BEER from me

Yeah, there are only 1 million Gbytes, but it can be transferred in Bytes, hence all the commas!

& hence why it may be a very interesting coin to keep an eye on in these crazy times. Only 1 million of them will be printed!

I always get an internal connection error.
even the bot does not work here.

Do you have any idea?

Yep, same thing happened for two people in the past.

They had to "update" the wallets, version, by version from Github.

You probably still have the original version from back 3 years ago.

If you updated from the site, then make another backup, just in case.

I presume you have a backup from the original wallet too.

It will take a little bit of time, but once you do it, your issues with the connections will definitely be taken care of.

The only other thing that pops to mind is that "maybe, just maybe" you are trying to hook up via a dead "witness". Not sure where to update "witnesses" as that is usually in the "Chat" service in the wallet. I doubt that will fix it, but one never knows, could be something as simple as that.

seems to work after update from their website

takes some time to show up at bittrex


Hey @jackmiller, here is a little bit of BEER from @detlev for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I was actually just taking a look at this a few weeks ago. I didn't get a lot in the airdrop but I think mine is worth like 5$ now lol better than nothing!

Am I right in thinking I have a few?

image.png

It seems that its Gybte now? Is this the same thing..?

image.png

Correct, the endeavour changed its name from "Gbyte" to "Obyte" but the crypto name on the exchanges remained "Gbyte".

Long story cut short:
When you see Gbyte it's Obyte, when you see Obyte, the currency symbol for it is Gbyte.

Confusing enough?

I can add to the confusion there :)

Finally I managed to sell it

Glad I was able to draw your attention to the events on the market for a cryptocurrency that was circulating in the millions of dollars worth among our community.

Cheers.