"Parenting Is An Art, Not Science"

in #altyes4 years ago (edited)

Screenshot 20200917 at 9.38.02 PM.png
Click on image to watch the video

I am a little late watching this interview between Jada and Will Smith for father's day. There were so many things in here that just resonated with me.

How mothers work on protecting their children from suffering, while fathers work on children finding their strength in suffering. That hit home and made sense of the arguments The Hubs and I have when it comes to the kids.

Also, the whole putting your feelings aside, and focusing on your goals, just the way my parents were and how I was raised, But that does not seem to work with the kids. Sometimes the kids end up teaching you how to parent.

This is a good one. Recommended for anyone with kids, especially teens :D

Till next time, Carpe Diem❣️
Sh33la


Read more:

Source: chrome://newtab


Share this post:
Facebook | Twitter | Linkedin | Reddit | Xing | Telegram


Posted using AltYes browser extension.

Sort:  

Thank you for your support. We will be working for a new payout scheme for you soon. Keep your chins up and stay tune!

Thanks for the recommendation! I love them as a couple, but, haven't seen them in a discussion about life in forever.

It's interesting to see the different ways people handle a situation. Do you lean totally one way of can you see it from both sides?

Thanks for this...I hope you have a wonderful day!

!tip

I can see and feel from both sides, and if there's more then.... - it really feeds into and on my fickleness and overthinking hahaha
Very frustrating sometimes :D

True!!!

!tip

🎁 Hi @kaerpediem! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

🎁 Hi @kaerpediem! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: You'Re Beautiful Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Ahhh, what a powerful, heartfelt talk. I loved it. Thanks for sharing! ❤️

It was soooo good right?
You are most welcome <33

Haha yep I do protect my kids from suffering and my mum did too haha.. but hers was more protecting us from Physical and health suffering. Not as much emotional and mental (which I suffered from more)

That's old school eh
Feelings were not a thing, and if it popped up - you just suppress it and move on.
I bet you are very different with your boys... actually no need to bet... I see how you are with them... and you are amazing :D

Aww thanks, I try hard to not make the same mistakes as our parents but sometimes it can still come through when you’re tired and get a little snappy. But yeh emotions are not to be shown in my mums house.. else they are often ignored, they don’t know how to deal with it.
Whenever my mum calls me on the phone and the baby is crying she’s like why is he crying again? Is he hungry? Does he not eat enough, you should feed him more rice! Etc haha.. but really most of the time he was just having separation anxiety or tired

I remember my daughter was like this the first 6 months. I used to sleep with her on my chest. If I place her down, she would scream like her life depended on it. And she was a very tiny baby, but her cries - woah.
And during confinement when I stayed with my parents, they'd say the same things which were frustrating of course.
But I know they meant well, but you know your nerves are already raw and then...

One day, out of the blues, she was okay sleeping in her cot, and would sleep sometimes for 11 hours. I used to poke her to make sure she was okay initially haha

Hopefully P, will be in a good enough place to sleep through the night which means you too get to sleep through the night <33

Wow that’s amazing that they can change just like that! 11 hours!! I was at the drs today and the midwife nurse there said he might be really sensitive in his gums/teething

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.