A continuation :a 'Bridge too far' as it were

in #amazingnature3 years ago (edited)

image.png
I needed a place to plant these Okra seedlings, where

  1. they'd get as much sun as possible, and
  2. I'd be bale to water them (which is a major issue, since I have only the one outside faucet)
    image.png
    I had a week ago, put tomatoes, Sweet Basil and Italian Oregano in a bed here, so using my tiller I broke the soil (and my back) Brought in what I hope will serve as mulch/food until I can get more suitable things.

image.png

THEN

I went to work again, using said tiller at my mailbox. I posted that yesterday which you can read here
After that work yesterday, I was one tired puppy, but the thing was lopsided and had a MESS of daylilies to be done something with.
I took my tiller down to the street

image.png
Dug up the grass, which was a pain in the ass (hey! I'm a poet), on my hands and knees raking grass roots and rocks, then again, backbreakingly I moved that mass of lilies almost "en masse"

image.png

image.png

It looks better with the dirt blown off those stones in front.
I need at least 3 more of those shaped blocks to complete the semi-circle, and I have a ½ block to close up the back row, BUT

My friends I am so SO today I could barely get out of bed
Methinks I'll take the day off from yard work.
I think that barrow load of blocks is what made it

"A Bridge Too Far"

ᶠᵒʳ ᵐʸ ᵇᵃᶜᵏ ᵃⁿʸʷᵃʸ
by

Jerry E Smith
©05/08/2021
All images are mine



cyktlq.png

Sort:  

Gardening is definitely hard on the aging body! My knees sure let me know when I've been down on the ground too long. Your yard is looking nice, though.

Hey @scribblingramma , my day off yesterday has made a large difference, so that Now I feel capable of going to the stores for the things I lack.
I want my yard to be something folks will look at and say "Ain't Dat Purdy!

That made me chuckle, and I like the idea!