I wish I could hate Amazon but they're just so good

in #amazon2 years ago

I just received an order from Amazon here in Israel. The order was placed on May 15th, most of it was delivered today May 24th to my door. Nine days is pretty good.


Support Proposal 222 on PeakD
Support Proposal 222 with Hivesigner
Support Proposal 222 on Ecency


When we order here in Israel we can get free shipping if the order is over $50 but we get hit with VAT and taxes if you go above $70. So allocating products to orders is a bit of a maths puzzle and often times I'll throw in low value stuff to get the order to the right level and split orders and pad them to be in the right range.

That's exactly what I did this time throwing in some CR2032 Lithium batteries because I always need those for something and the last batch I got from China was a few years ago.

But what I actually received are LR44 batteries... that's odd I thought, I don't usually mess up. So I checked my order and sure enough I did order them...

LR44

Amazon search for 2032 battery

Angry at myself for ordering batteries I have no use for, I went to the returns option. Because this was my mistake, in order to get a refund I'd need to ship them back at my expense. Definitely marginal on time and value from here in Israel so I probably wouldn't bother.

Then I went to search for the "2032 battery" that I really need and this is the screen Amazon show me on my phone.

Ahhhahhh I thought, now I see the problem, the first two "sponsored" results are for the WRONG batteries including the kind I ended up buying. Sure, if you scroll down you get the right kind but this is just bad UI.

So I made the effort to find the button to talk to someone at Amazon, explained what I'd done and without much fuss they are refunding the purchase and I don't have to hassle with sending batteries back to Las Vegas.

I've never had anything but an excellent experience with Amazon customer service. I had some problems last year with a merchant repeatedly sending the wrong size and type of golf glove I was ordering for my dad. Eventually, after talking to customer services, again they refunded everything and cancelled my requirement to DHL golf gloves across the world.

My first order was in 1997

Amazon Order 1997

I know they've done questionable things like pulling the plug on Parler and I wouldn't trust AWS with any censorship resistant business, but they have achieved their monstrous scale and maintained customer service throughout. That's pretty impressive. I'm still impressed that I can see my order history from 1997 with 3 clicks.


Support Proposal 222 on PeakD
Support Proposal 222 with Hivesigner
Support Proposal 222 on Ecency


Send Lightning to Me!

Sort:  

Congratulations @brianoflondon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 20000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 21000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Amazon is really great service. I haven't order anything for a while. The last time I ordered something it was quick. I mean 5 days that's is so impressive !

Love the "how close can you go to $75" game.

BTW: It is $75 not $70 that is the tax free limit I think.

You can check because Amazon will tell you if there are taxes before confirming the order.

That's the way they make more money by forcing you to buy more. Order value is a major metric of any e-commerce business. Amazon does thousands of things to increase it. Low ticket items generally have higher margins so that's great for the sellers as well.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I think it's a tactics that's totally worked and enriched them all these years

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yes mate. Couple it with great customer service and you are sold. :D

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I hate adding unnecessary stuff to my orders just to get into that threshold of not paying transportation anymore, but sometimes you got to do that.

Posted using LeoFinance Mobile

They have a nice market strategy to make you patronize them which is pretty cool

It's the first time I have heard something like taxes if you purchase over a certain amount. In the US, as long as it's like over $20, it's free shipping if it comes from amazon's warehouse.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta