Homelessness in L.A. - You Get Used to It (preview of my upcoming video)

in #america3 years ago

“What I feel more than anything is helpless.”

Our guide through L.A.'s Skid Row, Suzette, wasn't the only one I spoke to on camera. This guy here was having brunch at a sidewalk table just over his shoulder.

MVI_1938.00_02_06_19.Still003.jpg

On the sidewalk opposite the diners? Tents and tents.

MVI_1938.00_04_53_23.Still001.jpg

GFS commerce5.png

As you approach this scene, moving your head from side to side (diners to tents and back to diners), it's surreal these folks could enjoy their meal directly across the street from such naked poverty.

When asked about it, this guy simply stated (with resignation) the quote at the top of this post.

He then added, "I don't feel like I know what do to. I vote for people, and they don't fix it."

He added more, speaking to the normalcy of homeless residents in this city, one of many aspects revealed in our upcoming video about our visit to Skid Row.

We're in the middle of editing and look forward to premiering in the next week or so. Stay tuned: https://www.youtube.com/c/ThePeriphery