3 year anniversary on HIVE

in #anniversary3 years ago (edited)

On my anniversary date on Steem Hive I like to take a look at the past year on the blockchain. Because I joined in February it is a look at the past year too.

Words that describe Hive in 2020 for me
Hikes
Series (Share Our World and Art Talk)
Community (Dinner, Packages and HiveFest)
COVID19 (Monthly Updates)

I did a lot (16) of hiking this past year in Arizona, Utah, Montana, Tennessee and Oregon.

And in December on the Oregon Coast, the Indian Sands Hike

Share Our World Series

I changed my series from Share My World to Share Our World. It better describes why I started it- to share the part of the world that I had visited and photographed with others on the platform that might be interested.

All the posts for April Trip to Utah


All the posts for A Week in Montana


All the posts of the December Road Trip to Utah, Idaho, Oregon and quick visits to Wyomig and California

Art Talk Series

Art Talk this past year had the theme of tours of the National Gallery of Art in DC. These were all tours that I designed and took friends on when I lived in DC 2001-2007.

It was so fun to do a post of the tour, then an artist and a piece and a topic from the tour.

March- Italian Renaissance
Art Talk: NGA Italian Renaissance Tour
Art Talk: Raphael
Art Talk: Venus
Art Talk: Egg Tempera
Art Talk: Guest Blogger, @laurabellamy

April- French Impressionism
Art Talk: NGA French Impressionism Tour
Art Talk: Fredric Bazille
Art Talk: The Mother and Sister of the Artist
Art Talk: En plein air

May- Hudson River School
Art Talk: NGA Hudson River School Tour
Art Talk: Albert Bierstadt
Art Talk: The Voyage of Life
Art Talk: Romanticism & Nature & Hudson River School

June-Andrew Mellon and the Hermitage
Art Talk: NGA Andrew Mellon and the Hermitage Tour
Art Talk: Rembrandt
Art Talk: The Annunciation
Art Talk: Provenance

July-Portraiture
Art Talk: NGA Portrait Tour
Art Talk: Rembrandt Peale
Art Talk: Portrait of My Grandmother

October- NGA Highlights
Art Talk: NGA Highlights tour
Art Talk: Artist highlight
Art Talk: Ginevra de’ Benci

November- Dale Chihuly
Art Talk: Chihuly at Cheekwood Estate and Garden
Art Talk: Artist Dale Chihuly
Art Talk: Guest Blogger: Frankie O'Neill

December- Madonna and Child
Art Talk: Madonna and Child Tour
Art Talk: Fra Lippo Lippi
Art Talk: Madonna and Child by Albrecht Durer
Art Talk: Mother and Child

Community

It was so fun and refreshing to connect with a few Hive people outside of the blockchain, through packages, VR and in person this past year.

In December I met and went to dinner with @laurabellamy in Utah. It was great to meet her!

In September I received a Swiss package from @delishtreats and in October a Weston Super Mare, UK package from @livinguktaiwan


These inspired me to send packages to some of my Hive friends around the world.

@delishtreats in Switzerland Surprise Package
@livinguktaiwan in England A package from Arizona
@armandosodano in Italy A gift pack from Sara Jarvie, my friend on Hive

Friends from early days and #photogames
@asgarth in Italy
@fotostef in Greece
@soyrosa in the Netherland

I also sent [Hive cultural exchange program] and received [Thank You Galenkp!] a package from @galenkp who lives in Australia.

HIVEFEST

I got to meet @asgarth, @soyrosa and @livinguktaiwan and @galenkp at HIVEFEST 2020
It was a cool experience to go to a conference in VR. I am looking forward to traveling to a new part of the world and meeting people in person in the future!


COVID19 monthly updates
I have been doing a monthly recap and journal of what has happened in my life and the world in regards to COVID19.

At the beginning of the crisis I was so interested to know what was happening in other parts of the world and thought some might like to know about things here in Arizona.

On March 13, 2020 I posted Times of change and uncertainty. A couple of days after the World Health Organization announced that COVID-19 is officially a pandemic and Arizona Governor Doug Ducey declared a state of emergency.

On April 14, 2020 I posted Share My World: Thoughts on COVID19 about working from home, ASU moving to online instruction and some of the alerts and numbers of cases.

On May 14, 2020 I posted Monthly COVID19 update about wearing masks, social distancing and graduation online.

On June 19, 2020 I posted My life amid the Coronavirus about my second trip to Utah, a visit from Sara Quinney Jones, the killing of George Floyd and Black Lives Matter and how masks are now mandatory in Arizona.

On July 13, 2020 I posted COVID19 Monthly Journal about all the zoom meetings, question about ASU in the fall, how I was doing a lot of family history work and my new stylish face coverings.

On August 24, 2020 I posted Community of Care named after ASU's campaign response to COVID19, which also includes testing for all students and staff and daily check ins, my awesome friends that I am connecting with via Marco Polo, and a family trip to Glacier National Park in Montana.

On September 13, 2020 I posted COVID19 Update-- 6 months
on how nice it was to do somethings outside and still having to do a lot online.

On October 13, 2020 I posted COVID19 update--October 13, 2020 which was short and mentioned that I went to the park for a picnic and work is still online.

On November 14, 2020 I posted Conflict and Compassion It was a busy month with traveling to Tennessee and the US presidential election. I also had my first real conflict with someone regarding mask wearing.

On December 13, 2020 I posted Documenting COVID19 which was a short update.

On January 13, 2021 I posted COVID19 update- Eventful month about the people that I was able to see in person and the people I saw online (VR) at HiveFest, how ASU started the spring semester with mostly online classes, the storming of US Capital and the high tensions and political divide, and my sweet friend Ora's death.

So there you have my 3rd year of Steem HIVE and 2020 in review. Oh and I made it to level 70 in October of this year which was quite a cool milestone for me.

Introducing my self (First post on Steem, Feb. 10, 2018)
It is fun to look at this post see friends that welcomed me to Steem that are still active on Hive-- @jarvie (of course) and @intrepidphotos.

My Year Journey on Steem (1st year anniversary post, Feb. 10. 2019)
I talked about playing #photogames and #Steemmonsters (which is now #Splinterlands) making the #Arttalk and #Sharemyworld series.

My 2019 Steem Journey (Dec. 28, 2019)
Lots of travel in 2019 and posts for the #arttalk and #sharemyworld series. I also started to connect to the Steem community more.

My Introduction to the Hive Community (Intro to Hive post, April 4, 2020)
With the change to Hive I took the opportunity to re-introduce myself.

Sort:  

There are so many beautiful and interesting things in your blog here and in your life this year, congratulations! And your series "Share Our World" is simply amazing, I really like it. Glad I started reading your blog. Thank you for writing and keep up the good work :)

Thanks @sharker Your comment means a lot, I feel the same about your blog and am so glad I found it.

And I'm very glad to hear that too :)

Wow what a post; some epic shots. I was 3 years just in December; so a couple of months before you. Glad your still here kicking along .

Thanks so much Robert. That is so nice.

Happy 3rd cakeday!

Thanks very much.

Happy 3-year anniversary on blockchain Sara. I'm glad to meet you here and enjoy seeing all beautiful landscapes, life & gardening content from your blog. Thanks for sharing ❤️ and yes, I always love coming by your blog anytime possible. 😍

You are so sweet thanks. So glad I discovered your blog. You and @sharker are my two most recent Hive friends that I have so glad I have made!

Congratulations on you anniversary!
I joined about the same time as you, but was off the train two time for short period of time.

Well what to say about your work?
Only good things for sure. I really like the content you share. I am not much into art, but your travel destinations are awesome as they are connected with Utah many times which I like very much. Not to mention superb photos you are able to create.

Looking forward to next 3 years and than next 3 and so on...

Have a good one!

Hi Andy, Thanks, yes I do travel to Utah a lot. I really want to start seeing more of Arizona, while I am living here. Happy 3 years to you too!

I swear your posts are always the most beautiful and well laid out posts on the whole system! But i also know that you do these to be a great resource to yourself in the years to come. Nicely organized so that you can enjoy it all in the future.

Thanks and you are exactly right. I do like having it as a resource for myself.

Congratulations Sara!! And I'm so sorry I missed some of your previous posts on package exchange 😢

You're so organised with your posts in categorising them. I enjoyed reading your self intros and what you've been up to during the years. Hopefully we shall meet one day

Thanks Pauline. Yes, I have a knack for organization and it is fun for me to do these recap posts! I look forward to when we will get to meet in person.

Congratulations, sounds like a busy 3 years. Glad you are still here!

untitled.gif

Ha ha Thank you!! I see you hit 3 years recently too.

the early 2018 group is strong :D

congratz!

There is no 3rd year, #Hive is not even 1 year old!

Not true the blockchain data was carried over with the fork so hive genesis block dates the same as the steem one.

What you mean is Steem, the name #Hive was born after #JustinSun took over Steem! Read here: https://decrypt.co/38050/steem-steemit-tron-justin-sun-cryptocurrency-war

So its not correct to say: I am 3rd year on Hive!

You don't seem to understand how a blockchain fork works; the Hive genesis block goes back 4 years to the steem geniss block. They are one and the same; they only differ after the fork date. Yes the name changed but the Hive blockchain is continuous back to the first block (again Hive was not a new blockchain it was a fork) so you can say you have been writing on the Hive blockchain for 3 years, as only the name changed and names can change all the time.

Thanks for that clarification Robert.

Congratulations @sjarvie5! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 450 posts.
Your next target is to reach 500 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Time to go on your Hive Tour