Two Month Anniversary

in #anniversary4 years ago (edited)

It has now been over two months since my arm started waking me up in pain. I will see the doctor face to face, for the first time, on Friday. I've mostly been talking with the nurse via phone every coupla weeks.

In the meantime, I have tried the following

  • Gabapentin - currently at 1500mg, but I will go no higher. I don't think it has any affect on me. Maybe it assists the CBD I'm taking. I'm going to ask the doc if I can start withdrawing from it, stepping it down.
  • CBD - Currently at 150mg. I think it helps, but I'm not at the right level yet, so will increase slowly
  • TENS unit - sometimes it works temporarily, sometimes it don't
  • Ibuprofen/acetaminophen - just stopped using these after staring CBD two weeks ago. Was at the max for both. Stopped because they can cause different types of damage, and I have been using them for the whole two months
  • Lidocaine - Never helped, stopped using it 6 weeks ago
  • Icyhot - Never helped, but it did distract. Stopped using it ago a month ago to focus on other ways to adapt to pain
  • Ice packs - worked at first, stopped working for a month, have gone back to them this week and hallelujah they are working again
  • Swimming pool - standing in the pool neck deep helped til the water got cold last week. Worked for about 3 weeks, and I wished I had found it earlier. I bought a 7mm scuba suit so I could keep at it in winter, but the suit: A) floats me below neck level and B) is slightly missized, so it wont keep me as warm as I'd like. Fucking COVID scam fucks me over yet again, neither of the places that do custom sized scuba suits is taking custom orders atm
  • Hot tub - like the TENS unit, sometimes it works temporarily, sometimes it don't. Sometimes, it aggravates the shiite out of the nerve, and the pain gets bad. I mitigate this by not subjecting the neck area for over 5 minutes.
  • Heating pad - see hot tub for the same situation. I haven't used the heating pad in a month now.
  • Cervical collar - don't know if it hurts or helps; can add some pain, but that might be stuff pushed back where it belongs. Using it now coz i'm leaned over to write.

C3-C7 are BTFO (blown the fuck out). I saw something about a stabilization phase, but A) the only place I saw a mention of that was by a chiropractor and B)I'm passed the 6-8 week window where it should have happened. Was planning to see a chiropractor but my nurse friend told me it is inadvisable for neck issues (she was an orthopedic nurse at one point)

Currently

  • I'm at about a level 5 pain or above for 1/3 to 1/2 day
  • It occurs at night, and will wake me up. I have had 3 days in the last 60 in which I haven't waken in pain
  • Many of the remedies I discussed above helped for 3-4 days, then, like a democratic party apparitchnik, the pain comes back to fuck me over in a different way.
  • It's hard to concentrate on anything; I think I'm going to have to drop another semester.
  • I think the pain is getting worse; I'm logging more level 9 days ( I track pain levels and durations, sleep periods, and medicine on a speadsheet)
  • When I don't have pain in my arm, I have pain in my neck. When I don't have pain in my neck, I have pain in my scapula. Sometimes, these pains will dance with each other like a pair of 16 year old thots brainblasted at their first rave.

and thqts all, folks, that my own brainblasted noggin can put together.

I hope this information helps for anyone going thru the same shit

Sort:  

Have you made any changes to your diet? As you noted, medications usually only have a short term effect. Dietary changes tend to have long term effects.

After you get the diagnosis from the doctor, you might do searches to cure the disease he diagnosed with food.

a little unrelated, but I didnt specify ;>

I've got degenerative disc disease -> spondylosis c3-c6 + thinned discs c4-c7

and yes, obesity is a factor ( have picked up 30 lbs since I stopped going to gym last year)

And related, the doc also diagnosed me as pre-diabetic (blood test);

so, to finally answer your question ;>, I gave up sugar and white starches 2 months ago

Thanks!

It's because good jokes have truth in them. The left denies and ignores any kind of truth, so their memes are just visual forms of their doctrine and reiterating their ideology, not funny, they're self-referential fanfic of a world completely created by media and academia and their neurosis. Everything is propaganda and purity of the ideology with them.