Two years on Hive - is that even possible?

Can you imagine, I just celebrated my two years birthday. That is, it is two years ago since I registered my Steem account, and I have published quite regularly since then.

I would have forgotten about the celebration, but then HiveBuzz reminded me about it as it sent me a congratulations comment telling me that I have been active on Hive for two years.

The comment for sure made me smile, because is it even possible to have been active on Hive for two years? I do get the point, they just copied the content from the old Steemitboard account and changed Steem to Hive in the translations. No matter what, I have now been active on the platform for two years, and that is kind of worth celebrating.

It has been quite a ride, and I still remember the first moments on the platform. It all came at me as a rush with a big desire to build big and to write and to earn. I remember that I bought 1000 Steem tokens and one upvote was worth 0,1 USD at the most. Well, two years later, my voting power is currently at 0,06 USD. That sounds depressing, doesn't it? Not at all!

two years on steem.jpg

A lot has changed in the world since then and came to the platform in the middle of the wild-west bear market in which Steem also suffered. Can you imagine a ride from 8 USD (top) to a price of 0,1 USD (bottom). Now, that is a crazy spread, and currently, the price is about 0,2 USD. One is tempted to think... what if I had invested the money I used in 2018 as I joined the platform now instead? Well, instead of buying 1000 tokens at 1,5 USD each, I would now have been able to buy 7500 tokens for the same price.

But, it is impossible to think like that. Or, it is possible, but it will only lead to depression. How often have I thought to myself... what if I had bought 10,000 Steem tokens at the bottom (0,1 USD). The I would have kept it for the fork, changed it all into Hive tokens, then sold at the top, and bought Steem tokens (or Hive tokens) again after the fall. Instead of owning 10,000 tokens, I would have had at least 60,000 tokens now. But, if there is one thing you have to learn, it is impossible to hit the perfect top, to hit the perfect bottom, and such ideal trades are impossible to hit. So you can dream about it, but if you start blaming yourself for not doing it, then you are moving on a dangerous path!

Instead... I am enjoying Hive more than ever

We are in the post-fork era, and I know a lot of things have happened and many enthusiasts have left the platform Steem and are now 100% active on Hive instead. I, for some reason, remain active on both platforms and enjoy the communities and life on both chains.

Sometimes I cross-post, while other times, I write original material. This article is "semi" original, meaning that I have published it on Steem as well, only with some text change and other modifications. After all, life is different on the chains and the audience is actually not always the same on both platforms.

I am regularly publishing articles about streaming related topics. Besides that, the Project Hope community is also a place I love to stay in. There are so many interesting articles posted there, and it is also a place of hope as the number of people supported by the project is growing every single month. Can you imagine a crypto project running on Hive/Steem being able to help families in several countries around the world (it is no longer supporting only people in Venezuela, but also people in other countries). The project is growing its influence and it is making people able to spend more time with their families and to work safely, and to have food on the table, instead of doing dangerous jobs for less than 10 USD per month. I love that... when something so hard to grasp as a cryptocurrency-platform is able to make a change in people's lives in the real world.

what about the future7.jpg

What's next?

I am enjoying the ride, and I am trying to write as much high-quality content as possible on the platforms. I believe high-quality content will bring new users also to the platforms, and it will also feed and inspire those people reading and using the platform on a daily basis. It is also great to see friendships being built around the platform.

Even though my vote is worth less now than two years ago, I am still much more excited about the platform now than I was back then. I look forward to the future, and you will fur sure to read and hear a lot from me in the future as well!

Thank you everyone, and keep up the good work!

Sort:  

Congratulations @unbiasedwriter! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!