3rd Philippine Blockchain Community Meeting

in #appics4 years ago


It was another successful community meeting among Hivers and Steemians in the Philippines. The gathering started at 10 AM and lasted until 12:30 PM, Philippine Time. We spent a good 2 hours and 22 minutes of interesting discussion and learning experience.


Welcome to the 3rd Philippine Blockchain Community Meeting. We now have a total of three successful gatherings since we started.

APPICS Updates & News | By @Fycee

Thank you so much @Fycee, Philippine Appics Ambassador, for sharing your insights on @Appics, latest news and updates, and tips for newbies on how to fully maximize ones experience on the platform. Fycee also walked us through how Appics users can earn Steem and APX tokens. He also shared a very important update on the possibility of Appics moving to Hive soon. Fycee also shared news on Appics contests winners featuring Filipino Food. Congratulations to @Arrliinn for winning 1000 APX delegation.

HivePH Community Updates & News | By @Romeskie

Thank you so much @Romeskie, HivePH Community Leader, for sharing the latest news and updates on everything HivePH related. @HivePH's HP has grown to more than 5,000, as more and more active community members, delegate their Hive Power to the account. On one of the posts of HivePH, @JuanVegetarian asked the question about delegation, and Romeskie shared that @Guruvaj will soon write an article that will walk the newbies to the whys and hows of HP delegation.

Romeskie shared that there is an ongoing contest that aims to drive more interaction and engagement in the community. Check out the contest mechanics by visiting this post. Scroll far down to see contest rules.

The Importance of Powering Up | By @Guruvaj

Thank you so much @Guruvaj for sharing with us the importance of Powering Up our Hive Powers. This initiative is perfect for encouraging our community members to stake their investments on Hive. In doing so, we are able to support future developments of the blockchain.

How does the "Powering Up Day" Initiative work? Although, the project is still on its conceptualization stage, there were several suggestions made to focus on relative percentage conversion versus actual quantity of invested stake. This way, even the new members who may not have enough liquid Hive to stake can also participate with a chance of winning upvotes. @Arrliinn mentioned that by dividing the number of staked Hive by its base amount, one will get the relative HP percentage. It would seem that most agreed to have this as a key metric to determine the contest winners.

Featured Community Influencer | @Ybanezkim26

When I started in the Steem community, there were steemians who really did reach out to me, picked up on some of my confusion, and took time to walk me through the ins and outs of the Steem Blockchain. I distinctly remember Kim explaining to me how the learning curve can be quite steep for newbies, and yet he took his time to really onboard me, and back then, these were mostly on comments and chat.

In the past days, I have reached out to him for consultation, and even then he had the patience to listen. He really has the heart of a community leader, and his willingness to help onboard the people in the community truly amazes me. I am so glad that he said "Yes" to my invite, when I asked him to speak last weekend, and share his insights on how one can grow his account, and some tips on content design and development. And what he shared, truly inspired everyone in the room. If you have not followed Kim, please go to his page by clicking @YbanezKim26, and hit that follow button.

I tried my best to capture a few of what he said on his speech.

"The best time to post is when the token is at its lowest."

"If you want to be noticed, you need to be consistent on the type of content you want to produce."

"Be mindful of what you post as a thumbnail for your articles, the better it is the more you'll get noticed by curators."

"Curators look for consistency and effort."

"Saying that you only need to post to earn is wrong! There has to be a different approach to onboarding, and a push on consistency and effort is important."

"Think of how much value you can add as a user to the blockchain."

"Be specific and consistent on your contents to get noticed."

"It is best to write your articles in English."

@YbanezKim26

Thank you so much Kim for taking time to spend your precious minutes with the community. We are sure glad and appreciative to have learned from you.

Learn to Play Splinterlands | by @Pinoy.Viajero

I am a huge fan of Splinterlands, and wanted to share how the trading, and hive token conversion work inside the platform. By sharing my screen, I was able to walk everyone through the following:

  • How to transfer your Dark Energy Crystals or DECs to Hive-Engine
  • How to Trade your DECs on Hive-Engine for Hive
  • How to Sell your Unused Cards in Splinterlands Market

On the next community meeting. I will walk the team through the game. Hope to see you all there.

Other news and Updates

@KennyRoy will launch a Philippine Hive Witness. Please support the witness by voting for it. Ken plans to launch the project first week of June.

@YTPaulaP one of the artists in the community has indulged us with a song during the event. Thank you so much for singing for us Paula. You have such a wonderful talent. Please continue to join our community meeting and don't hesitate to reach out to any of the community leaders for your questions or concerns. We are here to help.

Acknowledgements

Last but not the least, I'd like to thank the following community members for attending the meeting too.

@Hiddenblade - We finally got to meet you. Hope to see you again on the next community meeting. We all look forward to learning from you too soon. Please support hiddenblade's art by following her. Let's all support the artist community on this blockchain.

@MrNightmare89 - Thank you so much for sharing your update on the contest. Let us know how we can help push for more members to participate.

@Atongis - Sir, thank you so much for picking up on @YTPaulaP's request to register on Hive. You are awesome as always. Thank you so much for joining us again on this meeting. Hope we can also invite you to speak and maybe share your insights as well on how we can grow the community next time.

@iameden - Thank you so much for following me back. I finally had the time to stalk your 3Speak account. Ang galing mo rin palang kumanta. You are so talented! Thank you so much for sharing your talent sa community. I should have asked you to sing too. Haha. I am so glad that you took some time to join us Eden. Maraming maraming salamat. I hope you also learned a lot from the discussion.

@Czera - Thank you so much for making time to join us. I really hope you learned a lot from the discussion. We hope to see you again on the next community blockchain meeting. Medyo tahimik lang si Czera, pero she really listens, and picked up on some of my questions too during the discussion. Salamat ng marami for checking Esteem for me. I didn't know kasi that it is also available on IOS. :-)

@GoHenry - Sir, thank you so much too for joining us in the meeting. We are absolutely glad to have you on this platform. Continue to build your content. Grow in the Community. We all look forward to seeing more of your amazing contents in the future. Nakakagutom ang mga video posts mo po pero sobrang galing!

Last Thoughts

When I started this community learning platform, I was concerned that people may not find some value to it. However, as weeks go by I realized that my worry is unfounded. The hunger for learning and interaction is ever present in the community. And gatherings like this, even if it's online, is enough to bring our members together no matter where they are, from which community their from, and what preferred content or platform they support. We are all part of the Philippine Blockchain Community, and we are all hungry for connectedness and learning.

I would like to thank each of you for your continued support and trust on this initiative. I will continue to double my effort, and work on improving my contents to bring more value to the blockchain community.

Thank you so much everyone. I apologize if it took more than 48 hours to work on this article. The downloaded video file is massive, and it took me multiple tries to download from Zoom. On top of that I had to do video edits and, finally started rendering the file, but it is still taking a long while to complete.

Anyhow, the video is finally done processing, and just right on time. Let me embed the video down below so you too can enjoy the experience we had last Sunday. I uploaded the video on my YouTube channel. Hope you can also support by following me there.

That's it. Please continue to support the efforts of the community to grow its members by supporting the different initiatives. Don't forget to follow everyone!

This is @Pinoy.Viajero signing off. Until our next community meeting.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://pinoyviajero.blog/3rd-philippine-blockchain-community-meeting/
Sort:  

The best part of this is the Splinterlands update. Haha. I found it difficult to write content and play at the same time but really enjoyed the game.

But seriously, this felt like a great knowledge-building event with good people, passionate for #hiveph to become a success. Continue planting the seeds... magbubunga rin ito.

Congrats to all. Thanks for the mention about HIVE delegation.

Wow, splinterlands player ka din pala. Sana makaipon tayo ng maraming pinoy gamers para makagawa ng guild. Madami kasing pwedeng gawin sa splinterlands, and the quick strategy game is super heart pumping.

Youre welcome. Sana makajoin ka sa future events. 😊

Been playing since a few weeks after joining STEEM pero stopped because it was taking too much of my time from other things eh. Once in a while I get the itch pero di na masyado.

Hopefully, one of these days, I will join the meeting. 👌

Naghahanap nga ako ng guild na mga pinoy to ask for tips and strategies advice eh wala naman ako makita so sariling sikap na lang sa pag aaral. Okay naman.

Thank you @pinoy.viajero yes, madami po akong natutunan, though technically hindi na ko newbie, I really like meetings where I can discover, learn and get motivation. Sometimes I still consider myself as new since ang tagal kong idle sa platform and yeah, I'm almost always like that—silent (or at least sa mga gathering/meeting kinemerloo) I do reply naman sa chat (minsan). Haha. Hayaan mo lang po ako sa background. That's my favorite place. I'm better at listening, I guess.

Kudos to you for a successful conference. See you on the next one. :)

Hahahaha, i love the stalking part. You were always on the go that's why can't find you soon enough here (i hope i was able to catch the byahe,hehehehe and not that late). It was indeed a great and awesome time last Sunday, I've learned a lot and become more inspired with all the stories and encouragement from the Hiveph community. Thank you so much for having me. ❤❤❤

tamang tama lang ang ngiti ni madam @romeskie. Kala mo hindi busy sa factory nyang paninda. hahaha

Wait. Why am I an influencer? 😂
I'm just an ordinary content creator. Far from an influencer. Maybe in the next few years. Haha

Thanks for this beautiful write-up @pinoy.viajero. It was indeed a 2hours+ well spent. Hanggang sa susunod na meeting! ☺️

Shared on twitter via #posh

Congratulations @pinoy.viajero! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 700 comments. Your next target is to reach 800 comments.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

A bit delayed due to the SSD CARD service... (^_^) But please support ones it's done...

Oh wow! A comprehensive summary of what transpired during the online meeting. Already shared the video to the leaders. ☺️ I hope I will still be able to join the meeting next time.