The April Fools Day Blahs

in #aprilfoolsday3 years ago (edited)

I have all kinds of nonsense ideas floating around in my mind. I could pretend I'm going back to STEEM because there is too much freedom here. I could post about how Qanon is TOTALLY gonna expose Biden and Hillary and how THIS time they'll somehow put Trump into office as a retroactive election winner. I could share an old article about something mundane and pretend it's a new outrage we need to protest for SOCIAL JUSTICE!

But I'm just not feeling it. I am tired. This last year and then some has been a psychological weight that I just can't shed. It's not like I've lost my sense of humor, but more like nonsense for the day is too forced and too frivolous, while the public seems unable to tolerate humor anymore in general.

cat-2483826_640.jpg
Pictured: my spirit animal? Image credit

Apparently Volkswagen rolled out a name change as a marketing joke, and not only are all the stuffed shirts busy harrumphing in disdain, but the US government also wants to treat it as a crime. How can I come up with a better satire than reality? I really pity writers for The Onion, the Babylon Bee, and Duffel Blog. Satire is dead when last year's conspiracy theories are now news headlines.

Share links to your favorite April Fools pages from this year if you think there's something that might bring me out of this cloud of un-festive cynicism. Meanwhile, I'll have more coffee and see if that perks me up.

Sort:  

dA's pranks are usually pretty good. Here's this year's one, a few people have shared their "fortunes" in the comments. One year they got a few of the very popular artists to help them with one where they "released" a "device" that would "count your brushstrokes" so you could make sure you were meeting the "recommended 100 strokes per day" of practice as an artist XD

Some people take themselves way too seriously.

holy shit, thats my cat!

NO! THAT'S MY CAT! lol. Good looking animals. Blue!

Spring is here... April Fool, I woke up to a fresh blanket of snow on the ground, and it's still snowing!

Well, at least I got a head start on yard-work during the snow-free days before the season officially started. Life in the mountains, you know?

BTW, the best effort at making satire that I've seen this year is Teal Deer's "I can't even news," which he describes as the "realest fake news you'll ever hear." See it for yourself, it's hilarious.

Congratulations @jacobtothe! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

I am very tired too. Not much to laugh about anymore. Excellent observation that what used to be satire is now reality. We have so much to do...