Surfer - sand raking

in #art4 years ago (edited)



In my last post I showed you my first attempt at sand raking. I had used simple cirles to make a more complex shape and this kind of technique is perfect for when you can simplify your artwork in this way. I figure that that is how the crop circle guys do it and that is why they are usually geometric patterns. For this one I wanted to try the next level up and do an actual drawing.

It started with the sketch above of a surfer. The area around Bundoran is known for it's surfing with some of the biggest waves in the world. It has actually hosted a few world championships over the years. That Atlantic coast can be really something and to see these guys trying to ride it with their boards takes a special kind of crazy.

I thought my image would be quite apt and would be a good test of trying to grid up a picture.



I overlayed a grid of squares on the design and then stringed off a grid on the beach 30 x 30 meters, Each square was 2 meters in size. This took bloody ages and also a lot of string.

Then it was simple enough to just draw out the lines and rake the dark areas like a big monotone paint by numbers.

Why bother

Again, my same issue with not having a high vantage point or one of those non-existent drones (This was 2010) meant that it was really difficult to see what it was. It felt like more just an exercise to do what I did and of course the surfers on the beach that day were none the wiser to what I was making.

I could see the above image from a little hill close by and it was enough for me to know that I did something that looked OK. Of course the tide wiped the canvas clean again a few moments later. I packed my bags and my assistant and I drove home with this being the best image I got of the drawing. It was archived away until now when I am writing this post.

I was nearly not going to post this as, well, the image is crap and it would just be me talking you through it and not having anything interesting to show but then I thought I would try some photo software and see if I could do something to make it worthy of your attention. I stretched out the image and...



Voila !!

There you go. Using this simple transform you can now see what it looked like from a bird/ drones eye view. I was so excited I even made a lickle Gif to mark the occasion. Maybe I will add photo manipulator to my resume and go work for ILM.

stretch.gif

So there you go. Over the last few days I have been getting excited about sand raking again and want to try and deform the grid I lay on the beach so that the image looks correct from one vantage point, have not worked that out exactly just yet. Or, better still just go buy a drone and have my very own eye in the sky. I think If I ever do make some money from Hive that will be the first thing on my shopping list.





Ps

Thanks for reading. I use PeakD to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, amongst other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Hive Blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.

My introduction to sand raking - Foot prints - sand raking

Mother Earth - sand sculpture

Mermaid - sand sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon
@ammonite

If you would like to support me

Bitcoin: bc1qp4lfg0ttz66nesgff8fd5unglg9y0l2jy53j36
Ethereum: 0x6abaE039b9BDFB67495A0588cb90F9EAF5f7556c
Eos: ammonitearts

Sort:  

Just amazing @ammonite and what you can do with sand and how zen it is to make such beautiful pieces for them only to 'return to nature'.

Thank you Donna. I really enjoy the fact that the work doesn't last, it means I get to do more and more and that they are more of a performance than a sculpture at the end of the day. That said I am so happy that I discovered Steem/ Hive as a way to document them and help them live on in another way.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Getting it out there on Twitter

Uuu nice!! The drone will be coming your way, I am sure of that

I am getting all excited at the thought of what I can do with a drone and my sand work. Hopefully Hive will get me there.

I think it will open new exciting creative possibilities for you😍