My Dream of a Golden Sphere

in #art3 years ago (edited)

goldkugel_hive.jpg


A few years ago, I've had a dream, a very intense and real one, which felt very important.

In that dream I created hovering and glowing golden spheres, which I could give away, to make people younger, and not aging anymore.

I told that dream to a friend, who knows a lot about symbols, for example in fairy tales.
He said, maybe that symbolizes my purpose in life. To create things, that make people feel carefree again, like children. If only for a moment. Make them happy, make them feel something beautiful.

At the time, when I had that dream, I wasn't at all sure about what to do with my life. I was on the way to become a nursery school teacher, but wasn't really happy with that. Something inside me knew, that that's not really my destiny.


goldfläche_hive.jpg


I never forgot that dream, and the golden sphere became kind of a symbol for what I have to do in life. I need to learn how to create them, and use them to make people smile. And also myself.

There are many ways to achieve that, I think, and one of them is art. Right now I'm trying to do it through paintings, but music and especially singing is another way, for which there will be time again someday.


goldkugel_trans_hive.jpg


I always loved to use gold in paintings, I love its warmth and how it makes everything look a little more precious.
So yesterday I tried to create a golden sphere for one of my digital paintings and that triggered about a hundred more ideas for artworks with golden spheres ^^

So that's my first try creating one.
I've filled a square with oil paint in ArtRage, because Krita doesn't support metallic colors. I then used a sphere filter in Affinity Photo, and also added a shadow. The rest of the shading was made in Krita.

It's not at all perfect. I would really like to have a proper 3D modeled golden sphere, to use for my paintings.

So today was the day, I downloaded Blender ^^
Haven't opened it yet, I heard the learning curve is quite steep ... but it can't be that hard ...

For now this golden sphere suffices my needs, but I'm looking forward to the day, when I've managed to get a nice, round, shiny, realistic looking 3D golden sphere out of Blender :-)

We'll see when that happens, I'll keep you informed ^^

For now, Thanks for stopping by and reading my little dream story <3


goldkugeln1_hive.jpg

all images by me

Sort:  

!discovery 10

thanks! <3


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program