Street Art - Arte Urbano: Guatemala #1

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Street art in guatemala is magical and so different from what I´ve seen so far in México, Cuba, the US and Belize... it makes you realize how important are the surroundings for inspiration and creativity sources to the artists around the globe. 

El arte urbano en Guatemala es increíble, es tan diferente a lo que he visto en México, Cuba, Estados Unidos y Belice que me hizo darme cuenta lo importante que es aquello que rodea a los artistas del mundo para obtener inspiración y creatividad.

The artists here are highly connected to the cultural roots of the country and the traditions of the town they live in. I found southern Guatemala full of talent and actually the towns around Lake Atitlan - you´ll know about Lake Atitlan on my next post - are full of art galleries, tattoo shops, art schools, spanish language academies and a lot of bohemian places that irradiate a special vibe to whoever visits, so strong that it makes you want to stay for months, it just pulls you in.

Los artistas aquí están fuertemente conectados a las raíces del país y las tradiciones del pueblo en el que viven. El sur de Guatemala está lleno de talento y de hecho los pueblo alrededor del lago de Atitlán - ya sabrán sobre Atitlán en mi siguiente publicación - están copados de galerías de arte, tiendas de tatuajes, escuelas para aprender español, colegios de arte y muchos lugares bohemios que irradian una vibra especial a cualquiera que los visita, una vibra tan fuerte que te hace querer quedarte por algunos meses, es como si te jalara hacia ellos.

I even weighed my options about staying for a month but I know myself, I would get hot feet after a few days so I decided to keep moving. I know it was the right move because after that I climbed another mountain and there is where I feel the most peaceful and on my scene. 

Imaginen que yo consideré la opción de quedarme por un mes pero me conozco, me darían ansias de irme después de unos cuantos días así que decidí seguir moviéndome. Se que fue la decisión correcta porque apenas escalé otra montaña y es ahí en donde me siento más calmado y en mi elemento.

This is what I am telling you about, can you see the difference between my Belize & México posts about this subject? All of the graphiti have a lot of talent but you can see the diversity in each of them. And one more thing, you can almost grasp the connection the artists have with their Mayan origins or in case it was a foreigner artist, you can see they get highly involved with the locals in order to understand the culture and traditions. 

De esto es de lo que hablo, puedes notar la diferencia entre mis publicaciones sobre Belice y México acerca de esto? Todo el graffiti tiene talento pero puedes ver la diversidad entre cada uno de los países. Otra cosa mas, por un segundo puedes captar la conexión que los artistas tienen con sus orígenes Mayas o en caso de que sea un artista extranjero, puedes notar que se involucran mucho con los locales para entender su cultura y tradiciones.

This street art comes mainly from towns very chill and with a form of hippie mentality, towns like San Juan, San Marcos and Xela. On my next street art post I will share with you a more psichodelic scene from towns like San Pedro or Antigua Guatemala. But for now  I hope you enjoyed this art tour I gave you coming directly from the Southwest of this beautiful Country. 

Este arte urbano vienen principalmente de pueblos muy relajados y con cierta mentalidad hippie, pueblos como San Juan, San Marcos o Xela. En mi próxima publicación les compartiré una escena más psicodélica que viene de pueblos como San Pedro o Antigua Guatemala. Pero por ahora espero que les haya gustado este  pequeño tour de arte directamente desde el suroeste de este hermoso país.

I know it was a long read, thanks for sharing this with me, in return, here is a small pupper who wants to say hello to you.

Se que fue una lectura larga, gracias por compartir esto conmigo, como recompensa les dejo un pequeño cachorro que les quiere decir hola.

Sort:  

Muy buenas fotográfias!!

que excelentes fotos, el arte de Guate es lo maximo....lo unico que le hace falta es mas promocion y apoyo de parte de los guatemaltecos.

Es correcto amigo, eres de por acá? Las fotos no son buenas, lo bueno es el arte!! jajaja

It's beautiful, I love messages. You have very talented artists in Spain.

It is Guatemala my friend

Wow! Amazing! I want to go there someday! Thank you for sharing with us! :-)

Guatemala is pretty cheap my friend, maybe search for a not so expensive flight and 500 US can get you by for 2-3 weeks :D

amazing brother

who is the artist?

Oh there are plenty of artists here, most of the art is not signed because they are donations to the town so I didn´t see any signature in 95% of them :( I guess we will never know...

Como bien dices la verdad que es muy curioso como entrelazan su arte con sus raíces. Un saludo ;)

Es difícil lograr eso! Estas personas tienen mucho talento, algunas más que otras pero lo lindo es que todos tratan de expresar su arte ligado a las raíces del lugar :)

That is some REALLY STUNNING street art!

Most street art is much more abstract and stylized.

Sometimes it gets to be both though :)

Like some street murals I found in the former Soviet Bloc a year ago.

I will have to post them on my blog @traveladdict in a few days so you can see...

Right on man, this could be considered more muralism than street art, that is why I had to make a post about it. It is trully beautiful!

Hey bro you should do it! I will start following you, if you don´t post them i´ll feel betrayed! hahaha

No para quitarle la antencio a todo ese maravilloso arte pero que perito tan bello :PPP

Jajajjajaja me gusta poner fotos de algo lindo que encuentro en la calle justo al final del post! Como recompensa por leerlo todo! hahahaha

Bueno te siguiera entonces me gustan tus post :PP Saludos desde america :)

Those are gorgeous!

And PUPPY! XD

Black puppy is best puppy! Found him wandering the streets :D

Naww! He looks so tiny, hope his mother was around or that something else was looking after him :)

arte callejero

Me gusta más urbano! A veces el callejero la gente lo usa para minimizar cuando en realidad es un talento que pocos tienen!

Wonderful post my dear friend. Great art plus cute puppy ;))) I see that you are so well. Thank you for your vey friendly support. The same here ;)))) Up&Resteem

Cute puppy is best puppy right? I am doing perfectly! I sure hope that Honduras goes without anomalies and obstacles hehe but I can only hope! Hugs from here my dear!

It is the best puppy. I would like to hug him. The paintings are breathtaking ;)))

Thats street art is so beautifulk and unique, I do remember now noticing some beautiful art when I was there but it was a work trip so I didnt have much time for exploring to see it thats some seriously cool art

resteemed

Oh damn, work trips are the worse cause you get to go to all of these amazing places but you don´t have enought time to explore and get to know the culture! I get ya man, but it is quite cheap here, maybe you could escape for a week to Guatemala!

You never know maybe one day I will

Love this post! I will resteem! people deserves to see this :)

Thank you for the resteem paisana querida, un abrazo desde Guatemala!

LINDAS!!! Solo mirarlas me hace FELIZ...gracias.

Muchas gracias Dolores! Que lindo comentario! De dónde eres?

Excelente post ^^ Muy bonitas tus imágenes. Saludos!

Muchas gracias Nina! Fan de los comics eh? Te acabas de ganas un follower, saludos!