The Ride music video

in #art3 years ago

Today saw the release of a music video I’ve been working on (and writing about recently..) for Chris Catalyst and his new track ‘The Ride’.

img_9287.jpg

In the previous post I talked about some of the creative decisions being made on the shoot, as well as some practical aspects to filming like the RED camera and lights etc

Well, HERE is the video.
Please enjoy, take it in, and I’d love to know what you HIVE lot make of it 😁

It’s freshly released today and has racked up some healthy views in its first 12 hours which is ace to see.

Chris (Eureka Machines/Sisters of Mercy/Ginger Wildheart Band) is a good pal and we have collaborated on at-least 12 music videos over the years for his various musical projects. Might even be more than 12... I’m not sure actually.

His new track is absolutely cracking - slamming heavy riffs, hooky melody and an industrial crunch/synth. Very cool stuff.
Go check him out on Spotify - just search The Ride by Chris Catalyst. Can’t wait for his album!

img_9284.png

The video was a fairly quick turn around from shoot to delivery.
I found working with the RED footage to be flexible but very very taxing on my poor old editing system.
We shot in 6K, and the flexibility over ISO, aperture and colour balance in post production is insane. Colour grading was a little tricky but I got the desired look eventually.

During shooting I wanted to capture 4/5 sets of shots, these were:

The kaleidoscopic fractured shots

img_9288.jpg

The multi-mic performance in which we used a jib-gimbal combo

img_9289.jpg

The 360 spinning/rotation shots

img_9286.jpg

The lens-whacking side angle performances

img_9290.jpg

And finally the 360 barrel shots

img_9292.jpg

Each shot for each section turned out pretty much how I wanted them to. We achieved a heck of a lot over the course of one day!

In addition to those planned scenes, we also got the bonus ‘probe lens’ shot, which happens at the end of the middle 8.
Where the camera slowly tracks out between the microphones in a weird effect.

This was done with a probe lens and slider...

img_9285.png

See the weird needle like thing at the front? Well, that’s the lens. It’s odd looking but gives very unique results where the camera seems to travel seamlessly in super small spaces (I.e between microphones)

img_9293.jpg

The RED camera, lenses and lighting was provided by Tom Hunter and Lucy Forrester, who were fantastic crew/camera guys. I couldn’t have done this without them! (They’re not on HIVE)

I hope you guys enjoy watching the video and a big shout out to @edprivat who has been active on my comments recently over filming etc - so I wanted to give him a shout out thanks as well as tagging him so he’s gets to see my post about the camera we’ve been talking about :)

Take care guys, cheers for reading, @ashtv.

Sort:  

Wowowow! First, thanks for the shout out!

I am so impressed with the result, and the song is a banger also! I went to give it a like on Youtube and a comment for the algorythm only to realize that's it's already buzzing. Congrats!

I see that it's available in 5k? Wtf!!! One question for you, how old is this camera? Is it a recent model of RED? Because it's been at least more than 10 years that I've heard of this camera, so I would imagine 5k wasn't even an option few years ago.

Also, I have to admit I am really jealous of the result, there's one shot where steam is coming out of Crhis's mouth so I can imagine it was chilly, am I right?

Congrats again on a well deserved success!!!

Also, something you seem to forget when you post and could bring more traction on your content, do you post in a "community" or in "my blog"?

I see that following a community and posting in there would be better for you, what do you think?

Cheers!

Thanks dude!! Glad you like it!

It’s shot on a RED Komodo, which shoots 6K.
The Komodo is a very new camera, so new that it’s technically not even released yet. My pal Tom snagged his which is a pre-production model, and is actually a Storm Trooper branding/style. The highest resolution is a RED Helium (I think, or it could be called Weapon) that shoots 8K.

Either way resolution doesn’t mean too much to me at the end of the day, I was just pleased to finally shoot on a RED and experience the work flow of an insane 6K image!

Yes it was still very cold when we shot this. So that’s steam from his mouth, as well as possibly a mix of haze/smoke that we used to capture the light and create atmosphere.

Communities - I know what you mean. I posted in them before but I’m not sure if it helps reach or not..
As far as I know there isn’t really much of an active filmmaking community — or is there?
Also one thing that I don’t like is that when I want to see my old posts in order I can’t if I post in a community. I like having my blog, like a journal in a linear fashion, and when I have to select drop downs to find my posts I turn off a little.

Am I missing something? Is there another way - like posting to both community AND my main blog?
Or am I missing out on an buzzing community somewhere that would really appreciate this?

Thoughts welcome mate!
Thanks so much for the brilliant feedback

Brilliant comment!

As far as I know there isn’t really much of an active filmmaking community — or is there?

I am not too sure, should we start something? I will have a look around.

Am I missing something? Is there another way - like posting to both community AND my main blog?
Or am I missing out on an buzzing community somewhere that would really appreciate this?

I would suggest to post in a community, then reblog it?

Ah I see, I wondered what the re-blogging/re-post thing was all about. People reposting their own content... that makes sense a bit now.

I think the Hive Film and Filmmaking community has a bit of activity, but nothing to shout about really.
There’s probably only about 5-10 active accounts that are around filming/videography.

I’m happy with the rewards currently - so I’m not in it for that. But more community and engagement is always a good thing

Also worth adding that I always post from Ecency mobile app... not sure if that limits my ability to do community stuff?

Well, you certainly blew those lockdown cobwebs away! Smashing video and the probe lens part looked super-cool! Bravo buddy 👍

Wow cheers pal!!
Chuffed you watched and enjoyed it.

Big tune right?

I’ll be honest, that’s not my kind of music but enjoyed the energy it had and have to admit to a bit of mental air-guitaring.

Appreciate your honesty, I often forget this kind of music is not for everyone!
But hopefully the visuals inspired. Cheers for commenting and for the positivity as ever!

It was awesome to see your work, thanks for taking the time to share it.

That's a brilliant song and video. The album will probably be my next purchase (on pay day).

Wow that’s great to hear you’ll pick up the album!

He’s an independent artist, so it’s great to see the support.
I’ve ordered my CD too. Can’t wait to hear it!

Yes, I like Eureka Machines and I knew you made their videos. I didn't realise you were on Hive.
:-)

Ah ha! Wow, that’s the first for Hive I must say. Never met anyone whose heard of Eureka Machines on here, nor connected to the community I am a part of outside of Hive. That’s brilliant, nice to meet you.

I can’t wait for the album to land!

Nice to meet you too. I live in the United Arab Emirates now, but I still try to keep in touch with everything. I get vinyl sent or I settle for digital download. There are still some exciting bands out there, even in a place like Devon (my home).

This is really cool. As a gear nut I like seeing all those mics :) It's a great song and the video works really well. Nice to have this behind the scenes view. Hope you get lots more work.

!BEER

Thanks @steevc - for the kind words and the comment!
Yeah we pulled a few mics from our own stash and from pals :)
I like the visual diversity of them all.


Hey @ashtv, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thanks for continuing to make Hive awesome.

Always :)

Nice job! The video turned out fantastic!

Thank you for saying so @aperterikk!

Dear @ashtv
Wow, your description of the whole process is impressive, the technical elements are hard not to visualize, and the result is really very interesting, the quality and warmth is noticeable.
Yours, Piotr

Big thanks! :)