Long time no acrylic pouring....

in #art4 years ago (edited)

It's been ages since I did anything arty.

Now that I'm well over halfway through my resin drum and have plenty of stock I need to sell, I decided to back off for a bit just in case I need that resin for geodes or sealing ink paintings.

As for the inks. I backed off them too because I haven't figured out how to seal them properly. Apparently Kamar Varnish is the way to go but it's a nightmare to source. Since I found my rust-oleum clear varnish the other day I figured Ill see if it works with ink on tiles. 👇

Big fat NO

As soon as I sprayed it I instantly saw the spray droplets, meaning it's a big fat no on the rust-oleum spray.

Hubby must have noticed my WTF face and suggested I do something arty this afternoon.

That was all the encouragement I needed.

The painting I did for above the bed had been annoying me for some time now and I was hating on it on the daily. It needed to go and today was THE DAY.

Goodbye crappy painting!

Not one to waste things, and since the canvas size was perfect for over the bed I decided to reuse the canvases and paint over the old design.

But first, since it's been ages and I chucked the foil lining in the drip area away ages ago, I had to re line the table, then mix more white paint and get it to the right consistency for pouring (not too thick so it wont glide across the canvas, not too thin that the paint will be translucent.)

Once all that was done, painting on a test piece was in order. Not so much for technique but more to see if I got the paints consistency right and if my colours work together.

Prep & Test

Once that was done, it was time to pour paint on the canvas and see where my mood takes me.. In this case 👇, absolutely no where.

I didn't have enough paint on the canvas and the paint I did have just looked messy and too blended together when I moved the colours with the hair dryer.

Failed dutch pour

I decided to try again but this time instead of piling the paint in the centre of the canvases for a dutch pour, I wanted to do a swipe where all the paint is poured at the bottom of the canvas.

Swipe up and down

Once you have your paint at the bottom of the canvas you then take paper towel, wet one end of it, take that end, place it over the paint end and drag the towel where you want.

For this piece, I decided to add a couple of drops of silicone (to create cells) on my paper towel and swiped up and swiped back down.

Here's a closer look.

Love the spots of colour and I'm hoping it stays vibrant and doesn't crack.

When there's too much paint on the canvas and the paint dries quickly, the paint usually ends up lumpy with cracks and trust me, after using so much paint you dont want cracks on your piece.

Colour wise it can be darker. I wanted darker, but it'll do for now.

No doubt I'll get sick of it eventually and paint over it again.

🙏🤞 Wish me luck. I hope it dries well overnight.

❤🧸1️⃣

Sort:  

Just keep repainting it til you're happy and your canvas ends up doubling as a sculpture, it will be epic ;D

Haha I totally get what you're saying about the sculpture. I'm seeing the previous painting's lines and dents coming through as the paint dries.

Congratulations @bearone! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 64000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 65000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the last Hive Power Up Day