Some more DaNang outdoor art

in #art3 years ago

Lately I have just been wandering around the city, mostly on my side of the bridge (you would know what that means if you lived here) and on occasion I will find something that is pretty decent in an artistic sense.

The city is filled with marble statues, so most of what I find tends to be made of that. There is this one promenade area that has a bunch of them, some big some small. This one doesn't look all that special until you consider that it takes a special sort of skill to "hollow out" a piece of marble but not break it completely. Or at least that is what I am assuming based on what I think I know about rocks.

126905073_702634677294330_3819308921699720556_n.jpg

If you look through the center of this one, which was about a meter and a half tall, you can see a white dot on the mountain behind. This is the "Lady Buddha" which is one of the city's pride. It is a majorly popular tourist attraction that I have been to a number of times and is kind of the symbol of Da Nang. We'll save that for another day though.

125870840_651561818846260_4473535969636940351_n.jpg

Located just short distance away is this gem which is featured quite prominently in the middle of a large, riverside park. It is a mother with her child in case you couldn't tell and it must be considered to be quite special given it's location in the park.

The rest of both of these areas are filled with other such works, but these were a couple of my favorites.

down a side street I found a couple of pieced of street art and as best as I can tell they are on private property and the owner must either be the creator or granted permission to whoever it is that did them.

125542510_160414622457521_5288193598235170_n.jpg

One would assume that this would be a business of some sort, but I looked around and it doesn't appear to be as such. It is just someone's house. The irony of this piece is that if you turn around, the ocean is on the other side so that break in the wall is actually a representation of what is directly behind you. You can see what appears to be a "Lady Buddha" on the mountainside on the mountain. That break in the bricks isn't actually a break in the bricks at all. That is all painted on. They did a really good job making it look legit though, didn't they?

Upon closer inspection I could tell that this was all done with brushes and is not spray. That doesn't make it less impressive to me though.

119654710_683174919216473_1949827265180774475_n.jpg

This last one os the least impressive from an artistic standpoint but I include it because it is all spray which from what I have seen performed in front of me, appears to be a more difficult to master art and even though it is just some words, I appreciate the talent that goes into something like this.

I would include a map but these are all in very different locations. If you spend enough time in Da Nang perhaps just have a wander or rent a bicycle, things like this are located all around the city and are not too difficult to find. Unfortunately, most of the street art is pretty terrible, but there are some gems hidden in there.

Sort:  

Congratulations @gabe.radke! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁵ badges available in the HiveBuzz shop
The new HiveFest⁵ Attendee badge is waiting for you