Street art in Da Nang

in #art4 years ago

This is my response to @jack.russelle in our street art challenge that he has been kicking my butt in lately. I have altered the deal seeing as how the quality of spray street art in your city is just leaps and bounds better than what we have going on here. Hopefully you will understand that we aren't exactly playing on a level playing field.

101607844_2689118698077589_3586698245104992256_n.jpg

101577040_560441268007005_8188779423873368064_n.jpg

This stuff is kind of street art in that it is located outdoors just next to a street. Although not a purist ideal of what street art actually is I don't really stand a chance at what it is that we have been competing in thus far so you'll have to take this instead. These works were obviously allowed because they are all sculptures and are one-of-a-kind and were likely paid for by someone.

There are about a dozen pieces here in this small park that is right next to the Han River and it was a very nicely maintained area that was actually being watered and cleaned up by ground staff while I was there.

Here's another one:

101543193_696697484480945_3116384195023208448_n.jpg

101759280_624690995092062_8626165200942268416_n.jpg

Now obviously these took considerably more time and materials than some mural on a cement wall and definitely cost a great deal more. It was part of a 2017 global art installation that sadly, not many people seem to be paying much attention to in Da Nang and the area isn't even used very much by the locals.

But i suppose I shouldn't be too judgmental seeing as how you can only look at something a certain amount of times before one no longer appreciates it anymore.

101385853_181383213237532_13029616516071424_n.jpg
101400152_279318056809977_6148769030283984896_n.jpg

From what I can tell, the community here seems to be a bit more interested in statues or other solid works of art that are placed on the ground in parks than they are in murals or giant works of graffiti as appears to be all the rage in the back alleys of Thailand - so maybe we can alter the "deal" a little bit. See if you can find some statue or outdoor art installations that are in Chiang Mai to compare to these ones. After an extensive search today in 25km bike ride I can pretty much admit defeat as far as the search for spray art is concerned because while I did find plenty of vandalism, I didn't find anything that could be considered artistic.

If someone would like to see these pieces and many more here is where they are located

So tell me, what do you think?

Sort:  

Congratulations @gabe.radke! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 800 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing HiveBuzz Shop - Offer gifts with your favorite badges
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I have seen no street art where I live and even the graffiti is non existent. Maybe the area is too posh and it is in the poorer sections of town. No one goes there any more so If it is it will be old stuff.

well graffiti in posh areas seems out of place and would almost certainly be caught before they could get it done. That is understandable.

jack let me know about your little competition. I have to say that here in Krabi there have been many attempts at having art installations like these but sadly they end up getting vandalized or even stolen pretty quickly. It's pretty sad since they aren't really worth anything to the person that took them and probably just end up getting destroyed in the process.

sheesh, that is terrible.

oh, and I like all three of those... especially "United in community"

yeah, i think that is my favorite as well

Yep, so this is what you were talking about. I don't think I can compete with that but I will certainly look. I think the best I would be able to do would be some sort of promotional Hello Kitty statue at a shopping mall.

let's see that Kitty statue!

Nice looking stuff. We have some of these sorts of things where I live but they are frequent targets for destruction or theft. Pity. Someone creates something lovely and the people just come out and ruin it.

Well this area is pretty public and in the open next to a heavily traveled road, someone would notice if people were trying to wreck / steal them.