Learning Patience: How Being An Artist Has Impacted My Life

in #art6 years ago

13E5A1CD-05A3-4159-A949-788873C00F63.jpeg

I never realized how patient of a person I am until I married an impatient person. As an artist there is no rushing the process, getting details right, takes time, if you get short tempered with your progress and projects I have noticed in my art will start to become messy and I believe this also applies to life. A lot of life is waiting, waiting for the weekend, waiting for your browser to load, waiting for a vacation, waiting for your car to be repaired, waiting to get from point A to point B etc.

I have noticed it’s just as toxic to create stress with yourself and others with your impatience for waiting as it is to silently harbor your anger so where is the balance? The balance is finding peace within waiting, to get comfortable I’m uncomfortable situations. I would attribute my ability to be peaceful in waiting to being an artist, I learned to live in the moment with every section and detail my focus is on, even when it sucks to wait, it’s not something that is worth my frustration and most of the time it will barely phase me because so much of life is waiting and I can be patient with myself, others and the process. How do you train yourself to be comfortable when you’re uncomfortable? I would say try yoga! Yoga has trained my mind to focus on breathing, being in the moment and finding comfort in uncomfortable body positions. This mindset has been carried into my life and situations that are unpleasant for the moment but I know I’m the end it will work itself out so I find comfort in that knowledge and just ride the wave.

No moment last forever, no matter your struggle just remember and try in take comfort in the fact that the only constant is change, it may be hard now but it won’t be this difficult forever. You will feel different from day to day, take a deep breath and try and relax, practice patience. Being impatient will only cause dis-ease within you and it will also affect others in a negative way, remember it’s not one single persons fault that something is delayed or it is taking time to receive what you need in that moment. Take a step outside yourself and try to be kind to yourself and others involved in your uncomfortable situation. Your discomfort is coming from a choice you made and the mindset you hold.

851EA4F6-545C-4ADC-91C0-C32B095F38C9.jpeg

Sort:  

Very true, we have to learn to be patient and trust the process. Impatience just makes a person unhappy.

Great post. I can relate to it, sort of. My mum is gifted handcraft maker. She finds peace in creating elaborate pieces of art. I really admire immense patience she is showing, both inside and through her art.

Oh this is an incredible post. And an incredible art

True, patient is the key

you're right! great post :)

Every detail i already like about Artists themselves, you have beautifully explained it in your post.

Your painting is very deep one!