An awesome idea came to my mind. New word in my creativity:)

in #art3 years ago
}

Hi, guys!

11:37 a.m.

It's Monday, and I'm fully recharged, so it means it's time to get to work!

Last night a new idea came to my mind. The thing is - I'm writing a book based on our DnD campaign. It's in russian, so I see no point to share it here, plus I don't want my pals to know about it before I finish. We're playing the same story for already two years, and I have a book with 700 pages at the moment, and it's not even a half of total games plot. I'm going on every week, it becomes bigger and bigger and I hope to publish it one day.

Dragonlance and Forgotten Realms are also DnD based, and these are 300+ books, wow. I have only one, and I'm not quite a writer, but I'm an artist. Probably you already guessed, what I'm leading to.

Yes, I want to make a comic book from it. As a person who loves comic books I always dream to create one, but the plot - it's my weak spot. Now I have everything I need, I have a plot, and it grows every week. So, why not to use it?

700 pages. 700 pages it's a lot! I have a plenty of material to work with. Of course there're difficulties with plot, cause it's DnD, and DnD is something that's not always quite logical. May be I'll try to fix it, may be it'll stay as it is, I haven't decided yet. May be I'll just make a disclaimer that "it's DnD comic book, so logic is away".

First of all I need to create so-called "Character turn around" sheets. And to think about what style I'm going to use, cause it's deadly important to stick to it all way long. Plus it's my first comic book, and I'm already ready to the fact that in the end I will have to re-draw first chapters, cause when you do something regularly you grow, and it will be too obvious.

So! Today I have a great plan. I need to prepare all meterials I will work with and prepare the basics. I think I will put this post on hold, and than, when I will finish with preparations, I will write some more about how it was. See no point in making two posts. So, see you just in few hours:)

12:55 p.m.

So hey, back again, and now I have everything I need to start.

1. YouTube and Pinterest tutorials in creating comics characters

2. Fresh sketchbook I bought two years ago in Vien. It was waiting for it's hour!

3. Sketching meterials, basics.

4. iPad for futher work (yep, in the end it will be digital).

5. Cup of coffee.

6. My collection of comic books to look through and find interesting ideas.

7. Most important! My support team, who is currently sleeping:)

15:32 p.m.

Let's get started! I hope tomorrow by this time I will be able to show first sketches. By the way, I enjoyed such way of creating posts, with timing. Of course, it was a first attempt, so I actually could do it better, and probably tomorrow I will try again:)

See you in the next post!

Love, Inber

Sort:  

That's awesome! I've got the exact opposite problem; I can write, but I'm not an artist (anyone who has seen my comics will attest to that!). Good luck!

Good story sometimes is much more important, than good graphics:)