Comic book thoughts and eye drawing practice (video)

in #art3 years ago
}

Hi, guys!

11:15

Yesterday I had a day-off, and today I feel like I better would not. When I take rest from my instant process of developing my projects I start THINKING. And almost never these thoughts are for good.

I'll explain what I mean. When I keep working - productive thoughts come to my mind. For example, how I can make something better, or how can I redo something I already done (I hate redrawing pictures, but since I decided to draw a huge comic book it's neсesary to accept the fact that I'll have to redraw, and do it all the time, cause with progress of the comic book my skill in drawing such things will grow as well, and will not look good if first pages will be simple, and last ones will look completely different, more skillful and complicated). So when I'm working - I'm fixing my plan all the time, and good ideas come to my mind one after another.

When I take a day-off everything is different. At first few hours everything looks fine, after all, everyone needs some rest, but when evening comes my fears wake up. What if I will not manage with the task? What if I'll fail? What if I created a project, that is loo large for me? What if my audience will not like it? And here we go, merry-go-round of fears.

Yet I don't know how to manage with them. But I'm looking for the way. Actually the only one I found this far is to get back to work. Also seeking for new tools relaxes me a bit, but it's not an option: I already have all I need, and even more, and can keep creating for a long time without bothering artist's markets. So it's such a sin, but not a productive way of solving the problem.

My hubby yesterday advised me to talk to a therapist about it. But to be honest I don't see the talk:

-Dear therapist, I'm super nervous about the fate of my upcoming comic book.

Sounds silly, as for me. But, by the way, while I was writing this post I became a little bit more calm. A little. So, may be, blogging is kind of a coping mechanism too.

Today I have a huge plan again. Banner for my Etsy shop is needed to be created, plus at the moment I'm taking classes of digital illustration (not the ones with concept art, other ones, shorter), and today I need to draw an eye and send it to the teacher in order to get access to lesson two. Not that I needed these parts drawing sections, but to watch through material you know again, with fresh view is always useful.

17:30

Hey, I just finished my eye sketching practice!

Let me show you some:

And in video mode:

See you in the next post!

Love, Inber

Sort:  

Good job & muzic ;)))

Thank you so much:)

All those feelings are perfectly normal, and do seem to get worse the bigger the project is. Given that it's not a paid job, it doesn't matter one whit if the audience likes it or not, the main thing there is do you like it :)

It's planned as a (trying to make my point in English) project that will be a monetized in future. So yes, I feel nervous about the fact if people will enjoy it or not:)

Excellent instructional video, good job

Thank you, happy to hear it:)