I Broke My Toe On My Cane.......

in #art3 years ago (edited)

Yeah, you read that right and it is probably the best thing about this post. Funny.... right....?? Isn't that ironic??? Classic me.

You might know I said I had been having trouble with my left knee in the recent past (or not if this is the first of me you have seen 😊 ) Anyway, I had been and so some days that were worse than others, I used a fun walking stick that I had bought from the Hospice thrift shop last year. I didn't really want to use it when I bought it, but it was made from a tree limb and I just wanted it hanging around. Little did I know..... anyway.... it turned out to be a good thing that it was here.

One night I got up in the middle of the night to go to the powder room and since I was a little sleepy'ish, I grabbed the stick from beside the bed to make sure I stayed stable on the way. I have a dim nightlight, but I wasn't paying attention and about the second step I took, my middle toe crashed into the stick ! OMGoodness that hurt like crazy, but like always, I held my breath and kept on going ! By the next morning, I felt that old familiar twinge that I had felt years ago when I broke the toe beside it. Arrrgghhh....

They never do anything about broken toes unless you have crushed the bone so.... I didn't have it looked at.

Fortunately, since I rarely wear shoes in my covid hibernation state, it has not been that much of an issue. I couldn't help thinking at the time though, honestly, do I really need something else right now ????? The universe didn't answer back, but I think I might have heard it giggle.

Below is a snowman painting I bought recently off of Etsy. I seem to be on a snowman kick lately... buying .... AND painting. The seller had picked it up in an estate sale and said it was pre the year 2000. I'm not sure how they knew unless someone at the sale told them that, because I don't see a year on it. I have sent them a message through Etsy out of curiosity to see if they know anything else about it.

The artist is Joan Biehl. I don't have to know anything about an artist to buy their work and enjoy it, but I do usually google around a bit just to see what fun info I can find. I did find her out there, but not a whole lot. I saw another painting or two that she has done and it seems she may be about 73 now and although she did not always do art as a living, at some point she decided to dedicate herself full time to it and so she did. I could not find contact info for her, you know, like facebook or a website with a contact option, so I did send an email to the library where she gives demonstrations sometimes (so the net says) and where in some of their locations some of her work hangs. I have not heard back from them and I knew it was a long shot, but still, I sent a picture of the piece so they would know I legitimately had what I was asking about. I'll update maybe, at least in my comments if I hear back from either. It's all out of curiosity for me, but it would be fun to know.

It needed a little cleaning up and the canvas had only been taped to the green frame on the back. It had come loose, something the seller told up front, so I knew it would be that way and it was no problem to put it together more securely. The finish on part of the frame also looked like it may have sat somewhere slightly damp for a while, so no telling where it had been stored and for how long. It didn't matter to me though, it is still solid and I made it work.

I find it very whimsical. I have hung it over my home work station so when my work drives me mad, I can look up at it as it always makes me smile inside when I do. I love the irony of the three SNOWpeople "warming" themselves by a fire. I like the lightly painted streaks making it look like the wind is blowing the snow and the cap and scarf on the snowperson on the left. I also like the way the one on the right is looking down.

Honestly, what is not to like about it? So fun !

for post maybe.jpg

It is a gray rainy day here. I have the day off and I was going to get a lot done. I did sleep till halfway through the morning because I stayed up till 3 last night. I set the alarm so I would not sleep till noon, but still lazed in the bed a while when the alarm did go off since the low light made it feel quit early. I thought for a moment about staying in bed all day.... what a silly thought....

There is so much to do here, always, and I was going to get right too it and make this day a success.

I put on the coffee, got a big glass of water and came to my computer to see what was happening in my net world. Then I got stuck here. First I responded to comments my friends had left me on my snowman painting (shown below) and then I talked to a friend on messenger for a while..... and then there was this Old World Christmas ornament ad in my FB stream..... an next thing you know I was checking out all the new and fun glass ornaments. Saw the Old World Santa head with a mask and next thing you know I'm shopping for that ! That's right, I have two coming, one for me and one for a possible Christmas gag gift. I'll show it to you when it gets here.

Actually I meant to make this post first thing, which I had no idea would be this long... sorry ! ... ha ha.... but it is 3 o'clock in the afternoon now and I am just finally getting too it after grabbing some photos and.... now here it is.

While in the kitchen making the coffee I looked out and saw that the Bradford Pear's leaves are beginning to tinge red.... and I am hoping they will hang on till the whole tree turns red. We have had several strong storms in the last couple of weeks, so some trees that turned earlier had most of their beautiful fall dresses whipped right off of them. 😄

out kitchen window.jpg

I posted some of my process photos on the below painting on my last post and now I believe I am done with the exception of white washing the edges and sides. That won't change anything about the front though. Thought I'd share since it was not finished in my last post.

I didn't intend for it to be pink, but ..... there it is....

in morning light 3.jpg

Hope you are all doing well and that your hearts are happy.

UPDATE !!

After I posted this, I received an email from Joan, the artist that painted the first photo of the snowmen I was excited. She said she did indeed paint it, but did not remember what year. She said it looked like one of her "quick sketches" that she use to do where she would go to various venues and paint with one hand while holding a microphone (if they had one) in the other hand. She said they use to pay a small fee, she would present and paint and then donate the piece to whoever had her come in. She said she had RA now and could not paint much anymore, but that she did come to the library to use the computer, so one of her friends there had forwarded her the email I had sent. Isn't that neat ??

Love you ! Mean it !

Jacey

in morning light 3 cropped.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Oh ! Thank you !

Congratulations @jacey.boldart! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5000 comments. Your next target is to reach 5500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Project Activity Update

What a cool story!! I love that you have the interest to track down the information and I love it even more that she got back to you! I was sorry to hear of her condition, but, cannot imagine how tickled she must have been to hear from you. And I do love the three snowmen!! Well, you know. We just love Christmas, you and I.

Your little pinkie came out adorable!! I know you didn't intend on her being pink, but, she is absolutely perfect that way! So typically you! The unusual!!! :)

Thanks for sharing these pieces of you! I hope your toe is getting better!! What are we going to do with you???

Mwah! Have a great day!

I don't know what we are going to do with me, but we DO need to do something .... and fast !! ha ha

Wasn't that neat that she wrote back? She has much more skill than this painting depicts, but it makes sense about her "quick sketches" too, fast and in front of an audience. I was sad too seeing that she is unable to paint so much now.

Evidently, whoever's estate it was, liked to buy local artists and old art as the ebay seller had various pieces appearing to be from the same estate and someone had put the pieces in frames, so obviously they had hung them at one time.

I love knowing the stories.

The stories always pull it all together. I love knowing too or maybe I'm just nosy

.... um CURIOUS.... yeah.... it's curious.....LOL

Lol! Yes! That's it!!