It Was Time To Buy Some Art....!

in #art2 years ago (edited)

Hi !!

I had some money burning a hole in my pocket, so I decided it was time to buy a piece or two of art.

I choose the art I buy by eye appeal only and it is no matter to me if the artist is semi-known or unknown at all !

This is one of the pieces I bought off of ebay this week. I came across it just by chance as I was internet window shopping. The colors and combination of colors grabbed my eye right away. It had a price on it, but also had a "make an offer" button, so I made an offer for a little less than they were asking and it was accepted ! So.... I ordered it right away.

1.jpg

I was excited to get it. When it arrived yesterday, I was a little anxious till I got it opened, because one corner of the box had been squished pretty bad. I'm not fussing (too much), but the box was much deeper than the painting and did not have what I would have considered enough packing to make sure it was firm. It also was not marked as fragile. I would mark any art that was mailed as fragile, no matter how well it was was padded inside but.....fortunately it did not damage the painting and I guess in the end, that is the only thing that matters.

2.jpg

The artist is Mona Vivar and she had named the painting "Sunny Gift" I loved it because not only were the colors bright JUST like I like them, but the combination that was used together I thought was really great. I liked how different shades were used to make implied shadows.

3.jpg

I also loved the way the shadows under the chair looked too.

5.jpg

It didn't hurt that she used a coordinating color to sign it. You can see it clearly, but to me, it did not take away from the overall look. I have seen a few pieces of art that I liked a lot, but the artist had gotten too big and splashy with their signature (for my liking) and to me it had ruined their piece.

6.jpg

She also signed it on the back and wrote the name.

7.jpg

On ebay, she had written the following description: ""Sunny Gift" is inspired by a wonky flea market chair and brilliant sunflowers on a sunlit sidewalk."

I love the word wonky ! .... and I liked that it was supposed to be a fun teal flea market chair. I thought it looked happily classic like some you see the art pioneers made when the impressionist style was young.

I would have it on the wall already if it had not been for the poor quality hanger on the back of the frame I bought from Amazon. I had bought one before that has another piece of art in it and it was great, however, after putting this piece into the new frame, I found that the attached hanger on the back was attached about a half inch off from the center.... ugh !....(imagine a rant here about how nobody takes any pride in the quality of their products anymore ☹️) so there is no way for it to hang straight until I attach my own hanger, which I will certainly do tonight or tomorrow.

8.jpg

It's Friday evening and I clocked out of work an hour and a half ago, which means the weekend has begun ! Such a happy time !

I hope you are all doing well.

Love you !

Jacey

P.S.

When I wrote my first sentence, I originally wrote "I had some money eating a hole in my pocket instead of burning a hole (not that their meaning is any different) but something prompted me to google "burning a hole in my pocket, where I found the below song being sung by Dean Martin. Now Dean was still popular when I was born, but of course was before my music appreciation years somewhat, but still, I had never heard this song that I can ever remember. I am putting it here for you in case you want to hear it. I thought it was going to be funnier by the name... but oh well !😊

Sort:  

That's a pretty painting of a wonky flea market chair and sunflowers!
How large is it?

Hi !

It's an 11 X 14

That is a happy painting with thoughts of fun and sun.

Glad that you included that clip. I have been a fan of Dino but had never heard this one before. Not on of his many hits, but he could sing anything lol.

I thought the painting was a happy one too.

That video said, as you probably saw that it was from some TV comedy show? I wasn't familiar with the name.

It looks just like you - sunny and cheerful, with some darker shades underneath for depth. I am retitling it "A Mature Optimist," and I like it a lot :)

Sunny and cheerful !... That's me.... as much of the time as possible...LOL

Bright colors make my brain spark and that mostly rules for what attracts my eye in art.

A Mature Optimist .... I like that.