Painting a Box with Acrylic: IT WORKS!

in #art3 years ago

Talking about box material here

(the box is an oval)
box.jpg

  • So I have ordinary artist grade acrylic, nothing fancy or too expensive
  • I used two brushes, one flat tip and the other one is pointy for details

NO PRIMING
It went really really really well! Here's how it went! The box was thick and not absorbent so it resisted warping, zero warp! Hopefully if you want to try something like this find a tough and smooth cardboard texture and try not to use too much water with mixing the acrylic. Keep a spray bottle with water too so your paint does not dry on your palette.

box 2.jpg

Here's my materials, palette, paint, paint brush, spray bottle and an extra tube of white cause it is the first thing that runs out.

PROCESS

Simple and easy here...

  1. Put paint in palette spritz some water too!
    1.jpg

  2. Layer flat skin tone and a darker brown for some shadow
    SKIN TONE = yellow + white + pink
    2.jpg

I lightly put pencil marks and erased it again with a gum eraser (kneaded eraser). I was totally unsure if this would be successful so the trick here is less water, the better since warping is your enemy with paper surfaces.

3.jpg
I got my handy hand by the little hand painting

Three:
I managed to paint in the hues to the hand and arm but it lacks shadows and more detailed definitions so I put blues and browns to make a black like effect.
4.jpg

Result
5.jpg
Not too harsh type of shadowing and one that makes it most realistic is a green touch to skin tone.

6.jpg
Next hand!

7.jpg

As you can see my palette has now become a messy warzone of earth colors but that's just what makes the artwork come to life! Don't forget the occasional water spritz to prevent paint drying too fast. (I know there is a lot of pressure with acrylics but I have grown used to this, the effects of acrylic has its own charm)

Four:
Background and heavenly clouds, I used much white blues and greens, mostly what I could find in my palette so it would come out more dynamic. I put waves and texture for this one. I just went with it. I am not used to drawing clouds I just added layers until I thought it was right or enough.
8.jpg

One tip I researched, paint always a midtone and you can go lighter or darker from there.

9.jpg

Here's what I mean about putting a flat tone on it

Five:
The boxes body gets painted likewise!
10.jpg

11.jpg

Lots of layering involved but it did not take so much time. The brushes will do the work for you just dab the paint and swoosh it through.

Six:
Pink purplish hue with touches of yellow and orange for a sunset contrast to the blue flowy clouds.
13.jpg

Acrylic may be more convenient for fast projects, drying time is quick.

Seven:

It is finished

12.jpg

Really enjoyed learning through making this as I am not fond of acrylic but since it is on demand and is waterproof it is very nice for products like these. The box is fully covered with paint. Excess dark blue paint I used to touch up on the bottom of the box to completely cover every part with paint (except for the interior of the box it has to stay paint free.

I am seld taught in wet media save for oil painting, I took a short three day crash course for it but I am still struggling. Most important is get out of your comfort zone and do something better.

That's all I have to share that is artsy

for now, thank you for stopping by!

14.jpg

champ.jpg
Some based sunflower quotes to get us by 2021
“Sunflowers end up facing the sun, but they go through a lot of dirt to find their way there.” ― J.R. Rim

“Keep your face to the sunshine and you cannot see the shadow. It’s what sunflowers do.” – Helen Keller

“I want to be like a sunflower so that even on the darkest days I will stand tall and find the sunlight.” – Unknown

“Wherever life plants you, bloom with grace.” – Old French Proverb

“Bring me then the plant that points to those bright Lucidites swirling up from the earth, and life itself exhaling that central breath! Bring me the sunflower crazed with the love of light.” – Eugenio Montale

Link to 60 sunflower quotes just in case you want it haha: https://everydaypower.com/sunflower-quotes/

See you around!

Sort:  

Well done! Sometime I use acrylic color (white) as priming when I want to Paint with oil colors on wooden surfaces ☺️

that's a great tip! I will see if I can try that next time :D Thank you!