Dissolving the Ego w/ Process (Traditional, Ink and Markers)

in #art6 years ago

Recently I've forced myself to work primarily in permanent tools and put away the pencils, I feel this has been beneficial to my work ethic, and i feel it has hastened my process a bit.

"Dissolving the Ego" 9" x 12"
Created with Micron Pigma Fineliner, Pentel Pocket Brush, and Art-N-Fly Alcohol Based Markers.

Dissolving the Ego Final.jpg

PROCESS:

Since I've limited my use of pencil in favor of ink, I don't generally come into a drawing with a base idea of what i'm going to draw anymore. The lack of a pencil is forcing my brain to stop planning so much and just let things happen which oddly makes everything go much smoother for me.

Dissolving the Ego 1.jpg

Dissolving the Ego 2.jpg

Dissolving the Ego 3.jpg

Then I'll mull over what colors to use, I really enjoy vibrant colors as i'm sure will become obvious.

I start with light colors first, filling in everything. (my camera really doesn't like to pick up the light green in the corner)

Dissolving the Ego 4.jpg

Dissolving the Ego 5.jpg

Dissolving the Ego 6.jpg

Then I add the darker colors, and blend them together.

Dissolving the Ego 7.jpg

Dissolving the Ego 8.jpg

Dissolving the Ego Final.jpg

Thanks for taking a look! If you enjoy my art feel free to upvote and resteem!

Sort:  

Nice work! I like the colors you use

Thank you! I'm a fan of bright colors.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @johnfist to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!