Work, work, work...

in #art4 years ago

I have been away for some time now, the summer is busy with not being in front of a computer, but since I got home I have had so much to do that I hardly have had any time for social media, which is a shame really, because it also mean that I have made very little art.

Instead I have been busy with all the things you have to do when you have 900 copies of a comic in your flat... not least selling them. And to do that I have used the last week on making a website with a webshop and a full catalogue of all the more than 250 artworks I have published as Katharsisdrill in the last five (almost six) years. Quite a lot of information to type in... and without doubt the toughest job.

webpage_example.jpg

My perfectionism doesn't help either. I choose Wordpress to be able to do it fast and easy, and I have really done everything in high tempo. None the less it does take some tweaking, and even though I have made a lot of CSS in my life it still sometimes get to overly complicated. I have also gone through a lot of plugins to find the right ones, and I admit that I have fallen into some unnecessary nerdery, for example when I wrote this PHP snippet that calculates how many years since I posted the first artwork. It is used in some of the text pages where it for example says:

" ... a Scandinavian artist who for more than five years have created free... "

<?php

$startdate=date_create("2014-10-11");
$date2=date("Y-m-d");
$date2form=new datetime($date2);
$diff=date_diff($startdate,$date2form);

$year = $diff->y;
$month = $diff->m;
$foran = "";

if ($month > 5 and $month < 11) {
    $foran = "more than ";
} elseif ($month >= 11) {
    $foran = "almost ";
    $year = $year+1;
}

$years = array ('zero','one','two','three','four','five','six','seven','eight','nine','ten','eleven','twelve','thirteen','fourteen','fifteen','sixteen','seventeen');

echo $foran . $years[$year];

?>

But at least it gives a bit of knowledge, and I will probably have to make more than a few websites in the time to come.

And else not much. The little one has started at school again so I have to get up early in the morning (which never suited me). Then I go swimming my 900 m i the harbour and then home and get to work. Soon it will be cooler in the weather and I will again use some more time drawing.

I hope you are all doing well out there. I haven't had time to look around, but I will soon.

All the best

Katharsisdrill

Sort:  

Happy to see you made it onto Hive!

Well, I did but I still need to get it up and rolling... my posting that is (I am not sure I can get Hive up and rolling all by myself).

www.hive.vote can auto vote for you, also www.hive.io is a good resource

I might have the auto voter to do some voting when I am away. Voting is the way to move the network in the right direction after all. Thanks for the links.

I use https://hive.vote on a regular basis for people I support. I want content creators I enjoy to be inspired to produce content.