Early work and the journey to becoming a professional illustrator!

in #art3 years ago

This one is going to be a trip down memory lane. Why am I so happy now? I’m an illustrator. It’s my primary source of income […not photography], turning out the best art of my life as a part of the @eos.detroit team. I’m most known for my photography, but for my entire life, what I’ve really wanted to do is draw comics. In 2015, Apple released the iPad Pro; the device I dreamed up in my head with full confidence that Apple would do it right. I bought it on day one and began a Patreon account to take my shot as a full time freelance illustrator.

It didn’t work out that way. My Patreon efforts died on the vine and I eventually capitulated, pivoting it to my dark pinup photography. It’s grown exponentially since then, and even with the new iPad Pro, I struggled to monetize. Also, there is the cold hard truth that I just wasn’t very good. Not saying that to be self deprecating, but if you want someone to support you on a platform like Patreon, you better have something special to offer. I didn’t. I was still finding my voice even though I thought about drawing comics day in and day out.

Earlier tonight, I was skimming through my albums on my iPad Pro, looking for some sketches I did recently for @eos.detroit and Topps. I went a little too far and stumbled across these illustration pieces from 2012 - 2015. All comic projects I was working on at the time. The waterbear cover really made me happy as that was the project I was chasing when I met @swarddraws at an annual comic convention in Minneapolis almost a decade ago. We’re both working on huge properties for Topps. It was a very full circle moment.

Many of these have never been seen on the Hive blockchain. I have a bad habit of finishing something, stuffing it in the drawer and moving on. I think it’s a result of working as a freelancer for almost 20 years. Its job to job, project to project, never getting hung up one thing for too long. Tonight, I did take the time for some nostalgia and to truly appreciate how far I’ve come from where I was just a few years ago. I’m actively taking time to appreciate this journey. Thanks for going back with me tonight.

Sort:  

I used to work as a freelancer and although I liked many things about it, I felt like everything I did was "never quite finished". I think when you are allowed to put as much time as you want on something, it often ends up being more special in some way.

I really enjoy your drawing style, why stop?

I would gladly read a comic with these illustrations!! Such a good job...

It's awesome to get to know some more about your illustration background Lars. Thank you for sharing this. Can't wait to get to get there too!

Wow I love this! Do you have any covid related art/comics?

I am totally in love with the dark pinups, but, seems like anything you throw out here, I have eyes for it.

Really captivating art,man!
You've clearly always got it, not being good enough can not have been one of the reasons you didn't make it at patreon. Could be a myriad of other reasons, like not being found by the right people, etc. You really good, man, you on fire!