Solving the causality dilemma of NFT's on Hive!

in #art3 years ago

What’s up, Hive? I’ve been wrestling with something lately. The NFT revolution is upon us. I’m serious. Almost everyone in my regular circle of conversation has an NFT release, pack, or fine art strategy right now. It’s a run away train. I’m uniquely positioned to have insights on this as an artist [long before discovering blockchain], and my position as Art Director at @eos.detroit. We’ve pulled off some big NFT projects, most recently a full stack Garbage Pail Kids campaign for Topps on WAX.

WAX is well positioned as a chain built on EOSIO. From the first block, WAX knew they’d be pursuing NFT’s, but specialized to commodities, for the most part. Packs, collectibles, etc. On the other side, we have ETH, hosting various fine art, limited run tokenized art platforms like SuperRare, MakersPlace, Rarible and new to me, Portion.io, which seems to be focused on comic book artists, which I love. The problem is; I’m just going to say it. It’s on ETH! Why?! All I see is artists bitching about gas fees.

Why aren’t all these artists and collectors here on Hive?! We’ve been art and creative-centric since the beginning and as a DPOS project, saving buyers and sellers bank. I’ll tell you why. It’s the same reason everyone’s on Facebook. Everyone is on Facebook because everyone is on Facebook. Creators aren’t drawn to @nftshowroom because we don’t have the collectors. Collectors aren’t drawn to @nftshowroom because we don’t have the artists. It’s a chicken and egg problem, but I do think it’s solveable.

Firstly, artists with the chops need to show up and take risks to make collectible, exclusive, tokenized for @nftshowroom. I’m going to do that. I’m making an investment of my time and energy to make something that you’ll only be able to get on @nftshowroom that celebrates the uniqueness, durability and community we have on Hive. I also think there needs to be an incentive program to lure ETH publishing artists back to Hive. I have some ideas, but I have to develop them over conversations with @lovejoy, @mada, @midlet and a few others.

I don’t believe NFT’s are a trend or a bubble. A lot of investors are looking for alternatives to withdrawing their gains and NFT’s are a perfect store of value. They also don’t react the same as volatile tokenomics. If they have utility for gamification, that’s even more value. This was more or less a freewrite, getting some of my daily thoughts in to a blog so I can start or continue a conversation, and reflect later. More to come as I’ve already started something super cool, but for now, good night!

Sort:  

For all the puny Hive power I got, I upvoted this. I need to get educated about this subject, so your posts about it are helpful. I reposted it as well.

First... that WIP in your photo looks sweet.

Second... I just spent a few hours chatting NFTs with an artist I tabled next to at the Baltimore Comic Con in 2019. It really is hitting the mainstream in a frenzy right now it seems. I was looking over the major ETH oriented sites and beginning to ponder some releases to test the waters and expand out of Hive which I haven’t done yet... and now you go and make me want to double down on Hive!

If I can do anything to assist in your marketing push just lemmeknow!

NFT isn't there yet but people will catch up with it soon.

Definitely down to chat to hear if you got some ideas. It's been pretty frustrating for me. I'm definitely in some NFT artist circles now and I really can't get people to try Hive. It takes too long to explain, they are not enthused if I send them to our sites, I've asked collectors too and they're not all that interested.

I totally see the problem, there is not even enough interest in the community of on chain art. I am giving away a 100H art piece for free it is one piece of my first ever NFT collection. I posted about it on on chain art and promoted it on twitter, but people just upvote a little on that post without reading it... So actually not a single person did the few easy steps to get a free NFT. I would love to have more artists around also I am shocked about the general pricing of artists on NFT showroom, I see art pieces that look great and then they sell it off for 20$ and I do not get it. Why would you put a lot of effort into creating art and then throw it away for a few hive?
Also it would be great if we had a way to transfer NFT created on hive to other marketplaces with bigger exposure. I mean if it is possible to sell and buy splinterland cards on wax it is also possible for our art. Would be nice if interoperability with other blockchains would get implemented. Let me know what we can do to raise more awareness to NFT showroom! @nftshowroom it would be nice if we could raise the bar in terms of quality content also I would be totally willing to spend some of my hive to do a promotion for NFT showroom and its artists on other platforms. And I think a few other artists are willing to get on that train as well.
Thanks for collecting your thoughts!

I was actually thinking about this the other day and I think a big part of the reason that this is happening is because Hive isn't listed as many places as ETH. Wax for that matter too. If you live outside of the US there are a ton of avenues to get to these things, but inside the US they either don't exist or they are difficult to accomplish for the general public. If Hive and WAX were to be listed on Coinbase, that would be a huge deal. It would give artists an easy way on and off the blockchain(s) and into fiat.

I do not think this #HIVENFT thingy will be left behind by the ETH´s .
Being an artist is alway being connected to , with connection things work out, #HIVE or all three #CHAINZ are so very connective to be used and will succeed .