Colour Mixing Workshop Preparation

in #art3 years ago

WorkshopPreparationxsw.jpg

I'm preparing for another workshop, in January 2021. This time the focus is on colour mixing using a limited palette, specifically the Zorn Palette. The choice of colours, the palette, is named after Anders Zorn, a Swedish painter. I'll write a post about him in the future.

The typical Zorn palette consists of only four colours, Cadmium Red, Ochre Yellow, Black and White. While range of colours of this palette is missing saturated, yellow, green, blue and violet, muted analogues are possible. However, the palette is very suitable for painting skin tones, which makes it very useful for portraits or figurative works.

Anyhow I'd better get back to it. I'll give you a full run down when I'm done.

Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

I love the Azora pallette. Never tried it but I eager to learn it 🤍

Watch this space... =)

I'm kinda pathetic and struggle when I'm limited with colours, but never fail to be impressed by just how many one can squeeze out of a limited palette XD

Watch this space and you'll see how many combinatins I get out four. Then if you add just three more, the multiplicity is incredible. You then start to look at your large paint collection and wonder why you have all of those extras. I'm at a point where there are colours I'll never go back to.

Everything painting you've seen me post here, has only about six colours.

Limited palettes changed the way I worked for the better.

Damn O_O

And yay for finding stuff that changes things for the better :D