First Plein Airt Painting for 2020

in #art4 years ago

IMG_0367xsw.jpg

And now for something different...

My first plein air painting for the year which I painted in the company of Kuba Ambrose up in the forested hills. Even a rain storm wasn't going to stop us painting.

IMG_0349xsw.jpg

It wasn't until I made it home that I discovered the forest had also left its mark on the painting as we walked out through thick foliage. It adds a little extra character to the painting.

Prior to my outdoor painting adventures, I prepared a stack of self-made canvas boards. Previously I had simply gessoed plywood. But after seeing another artist mount pre-primed canvas to boards and how easy it was, I ferreted out the canvas offcuts that I had been keeping for such unforeseen possibilities.

IMG_0368xsw.jpg

Mounting the canvas wasn't as straight forward as I had thought, so after some trial and error, I now have a production process which gets the job done with a minimum of fuss.

I think I now have more than enough canvas boards for this year's plein air season.

30 x 21cm, oil on canvas board

Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

Yay for being able to get out! Were you painting in the rain or was there a bit of shelter? Or is that the rain coming for you in the photo? XD

Rain didn't last too long and we were under thick foliage as well as a small tarp Kuba put up.

That actually sounds really pleasant :)