Searching for Answers - Painting Development

in #art4 years ago

Searchingdevxsw.jpg

As promised, I'm posting an overview of the development of my latest painting.

Image0001xswm.jpg

The image originally started as a pencil drawing. It was only later that I decided to translate it to oil paint.

IMG_0002xsw.jpg

The painting starts with the outlines and initial value statement painted in oils thinned with turpentine. This follows the fat of lean rule, as well as allowing me to start on the next stage immediately because it dries quickly.

IMG_0008xsw.jpg

It's important for me to eliminate the white canvas so I can start to work with my values.

IMG_0073xsw.jpg

With the blocking in done of the major values I can progress on to the polish and detail.

IMG_0090xsw.jpg

And here we are at the final painting.

"Searching for Answers", Leo Plaw, 40 x 30cm, oil on canvas

I offer online tuition, more details on my website.

Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

Do you project the drawing onto the canvas and transfer or use it as reference?

It depends upon how much time I have, sometimes project, other times I grid and draw onto the canvas. I've even sometimes taken a shot at painting directly on the canvas. However with this painting I projected.

Mesmerizing stirred with a little Whoah