Sunday Sketch Practice

in #art4 years ago

Image0004xsw.jpg

I took a break from my current painting projects today. So what did I do? Whipped out the pencil for a short drawing exercise. I want to make more of a habit with small drawing studies so that I can improve and speed up my technique. There's only one way to do that. Draw! And lots of it.

With beautiful weather outside, I wanted to go sit under the trees in the park. I packed pencils, paper and tea and headed to the park. Mind you the point was to enjoy the weather, so I spent most of the time relaxing and only occasionally sketching. Thus, Sunday's second drawing is not complete.

graphite pencil on paper.

Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

Does it need to be complete if it's practice? And sometimes they look just as nice or better when they're not :)

I know what you mean, but with these the point is draw a complete figure in as little time as possible. The exercises is observation and rendering, rather than stylistic exploration.