Must See: Christmas Scenes Created with Chalk on Parking Lot Spaces

in #art2 years ago

Every year our local church has some kind of presentation for Christmas. We have had Kresch festivals where everyone brought their nativities. Some of them were handmade, some were bought, some were drawn, but they were brought from all over. It was an amazing collection. People will sing Christmas carols as well. It is an amazing time to get into the Christmas spirit and focus on the "reason for the season."

img_0.4509909562657159.jpg

This year though, they had local artists come and adopt a parking lot space and fill it with their chalk Christmas art. I am amazed at the results and wanted to share.

img_0.23626866920614079.jpg

There were all types of art from the simple to the jaw-dropping.

img_0.31632950691712053.jpg

Some of these I look at and just think, "how??"

img_0.20203091945778312.jpg

A lot focused on Christ, but a few were more secular in nature with good ol' traditional Christmas images.

img_0.5141858672807201.jpgimg_0.2719314052345374.jpgimg_0.4812884058712681.jpg

img_0.12381059877285354.jpg

I know there are so many pictures, but it is better to have too many than too few right?!

img_0.836374235383858.jpg
This one was created by a mom I know who creates beautiful images. Next time I see her in person, I will find out if she has used chalk before. She usually paints.

img_0.8868916835312652.jpg

This stained glass picture. It is incredible!!!

img_0.48194170767730965.jpg

This one reminds me of the Willow Tree collection of simple, wooden figures.

img_0.5874849256732093.jpg

When I see this type of art, I usually just stand mesmerized. I always have wanted to be a better artist, so can appreciate the different levels of talent here. I just wanted to share it with others because I think it is something amazing. I know I have said that a few times, but look what was created with chalk in a PARKING LOT! img_0.4907577827297371.jpg
img_0.04401957358033094.jpg

I wasn't exactly sure where to post this, but I hope that if you got this far that you enjoyed it. I am hoping that if they do this again next year that I can participate. I think that I would have drawn the star over a nativity or a candyland theme or family sitting by a Christmas tree with a fire in the background.

Sort:  

Good morning. Do you know how to retrieve your mentions?

I thought I did. I think they are listed under 'mentions,' but I feel like I missed something or am 'doing it wrong' now that you asked.........

I think you are too, you've missed a couple that I've noticed, not just the ones from me. Let's get you fixed up.. Are you using Ecency or PeakD to access the chain?

And are you aware of hiveblocks?
Hiveblocks.com/@liftslikealady it'll show you your updated mana and voting strength, RC's, who's voting what on your account, stuff like that.

I do all of this from Ecency app. My mentions are a bell icon on the bottom of the screen.

img_0618.png

I will take all the help you are willing to offer. :O
I was not aware of hiveblocks. I do a lot of things from my phone on ecency, but try to post the blog stuff on my computer. It seems that the phone app and the website from the computer show different things. I did just sign up for discord yesterday and dreemport also. (under liftslikealady) Sometimes when I click on mentions, it shows me the same stuff as under "all" and I may just need to keep refreshing. Sometimes, I have seen a mention, but it was from hivebuzz, but I don't know if I am supposed to respond to all those (and I am sure I miss some even though I don't want/mean to). Like on this post, @magicmonk tagged @tipu to curate, but I don't know if that means I should comment on that. I guess I need to learn more hive etiquette. I post from ecency. Sometimes when I see someone upvoted me, I want to go and look at their posts and say thank you and comment on their posts, but they haven't actually posted anything in a looooooong time, like @boatymcboatface, for example.

great to see you have joined Discord... there is a discord bot called GINABOT that you can use to set a wide number of choices what you want to be notified of. I'd feed dead in the water without it.

GINABOT. Got it. kinda. ha ha ha. I'm gonna go log in and see about meeting ginabot. lol. Thank you for your help. It is so great to have support!

I rarely respond to the automated ones either. You're doing great. Lemme know if you need a hand.

The desktop and app version for ecency have significant differences. Both are great. I prefer the app.

Pretty stunning work. I hope it doesn't rain and wash those away... what a great idea! I may have to suggest that here as a youth activity...

Right?! I want to do the same thing for our youth also. It is a great way to get involved and have fun with it.

Those are awesome arts, and to know they were made using chalks proves the efforts and time spent drawing them.
Season's greetings.

I am glad you like them. I just love this so much. I think it is because it was so unexpected. Who transforms parking lot spaces? I want to do.this now.

wowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww these are SO amazing!!!!!!!!!!!! i wish that they had recorded themselves creating these
they always amaze me hehehehehehe wowwww wow wow!!!

Thank you for sharing these!

I had no idea that these would be so amazing. If they do this next year, I am showing up to record. I would have loved to see these created. I mean, who knew chalk in a parking lot could be beautiful???

truly!!! they are so remarkable. I'm fascinated with people who can do these things..just something like this can bring such beauty into the world!!

All of them are pretty Magnificent!
Happy Holidays!

THank you so much! I am glad that you were able to see them. They are amazing.

Congratulations @liftslikealady! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 3500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to to your friends
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!