AI Art + Consider the Motherling Perspective

in #art2 years ago

umbrellaAI.jpg

Above is my latest bit of AI art. It was seeded with the oil painting at the end of this post and the words, "People sitting at an umbrella outside of the coffee shop." Below is part 24 of an untitled scifi work. If you're just tuning in, consider starting with Part 1.

Part 24

Upon hearing Benjamin's full report about the injury on the ship, Pipix was pleased. They sat with Gwen, Benko, and Mork outside of a coffee shop on Avenue A. "Pipix?" asked Gwen. "Have you decided what you want?"

"Oh, anything from the Adado washing station in Ethiopia should be fine," said Pipix.

"I can get you coffee," said Gwen. "We're in Alphabet City, not Williamsburg."

Pipix rolled her eyes slightly and Gwen left the crowded sidewalk seating area to fetch the beverage. Benjamin laughed. "You really should go and check out Tent City Prime," he said. "Get a feel for what you've set into motion. I'm telling you, the whole place feels like revolution. Like the start of something massive and incredible."

"My shoes don't do well on dirt paths," said Pipix. "Maybe you and Gwen could carry me in a litter."

"Perhaps if you merely observed the place with Mork's device," said Benko. "I recorded several coordinates of interest."

"We can observe," said Pipix. "But I'm preoccupied with something else at the moment. My people have all started coming out of the closet as Lindrue. Gorkix and Stellax were just arrested in Hong Kong for admitting their extraterrestrial status on social media."

"So you want to help them?" asked Mork. "Do you have the coordinates of where they're being held?"

"No, but Dr Biggs should be able to locate them," said Pipix. "That's not the important part, though. The important part is that no one is paying attention to me anymore."

"Of course," said Benjamin, chuckling. "Maybe if you announced that a rescue was to take place and then did the rescue, the masses would again shower you with likes."

"I would think their safety would take priority over the likes," said Benko.

"What if they've been mistreated?" asked Mork. "Our rescue should probably include a medic."

"Here you go," said Gwen, returning with a coffee for Pipix. "Talking about Gorkix and Stellax?"

"You know them?" asked Benjamin, sensing a familiarity in the question.

"I made arrangements for them a few years ago when they visited the city," said Gwen.

"Holy shit!" said Benjamin, looking at his phone. "Ten thousand people are marching on Washington, waving flags that say 'aliens go home.' Dr Worth advises us to move to a secure location."

Gwen consulted her phone. "Fox News says fifty thousand people," she said. "And they're apparently clashing with radical leftists."

"Are radical leftists not the ones who clash with everyone?" asked Benko.

"Yes, and Fox is not known for accuracy in its reporting," said Mork. "Even so, this is not a good development."

"Why not?" asked Pipix. "We knew there would be demonstrations. Let the little people have their circuses."

"There have been a few injuries," said Gwen. "A drunk man was apprehended by police for brandishing a gun. But mostly peaceful so far."

"These demonstrators are the same ones that want the government to make a law preventing Earthlings from immigrating to Mother, are they not?" asked Pipix.

"Pretty much," said Benjamin.

"Like the opposites of the Earthlings I met in Tent City Prime," said Benko. "Those ones want badly to escape from the ones that hate our presence here."

"Yeah," said Benjamin. "Just thinking about it makes me want to immigrate to the planet Mother today."

"I'm sure your fortune teller friend would like that," said Gwen. "Kristen, wasn't it?"

"Another visit to Mother isn't the worst idea," said Pipix. "If we do rescue Gorkix and Stellax, and if the demonstrations spread, riding out the storm in another world might be prudent."

"I have made a text for Dr Worth to find us the coordinates of the prisoners," said Benko.

"I'm consulting my oracle now to see what to do," said Pipix.

Mork gave Benjamin an unusual look. "In moments like this, I try to consider the Motherling perspective," he said. "My people are observing Earth closely, and might question our commitment to our plan if we leave this world to escape the consequences of our actions here."

Benko nodded. "A good point that I had not considered," he said.

"Why not start with addressing the UN about the prisoners," said Gwen, who normally didn't make suggestions like this. "We could go there right now to begin applying diplomatic pressure."

"Would that help?" asked Benko.

"I wonder," said Mork.

"To make a bigger splash, you could do a press conference outside the UN building before going in to deal wit the diplomats," said Gwen.

"Dr Worth has asked that someone from the government be present for any press conferences," said Mork. "Gwen, you seem to have a sense of unusual urgency about this matter. Is it urgent enough to break our agreement with the United States?"

"I don't know," said Gwen. "I'm just worried about them. What if they're being tortured? Dissected, even?"

"My oracle app says I should do the rescue immediately," said Pipix. "Mork, can we head to your apartment now to get started?"

"Yes, but I do insist we find a medic in case they arrive injured," said Mork.

umbrella4.jpg


Read my novels:

See my NFTs:

  • Small Gods of Time Travel is a 41 piece Tezos NFT collection on Objkt that goes with my book by the same name.
  • History and the Machine is a 20 piece Tezos NFT collection on Objkt based on my series of oil paintings of interesting people from history.
  • Artifacts of Mind Control is a 15 piece Tezos NFT collection on Objkt based on declassified CIA documents from the MKULTRA program.
Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.