Counting Days oil painting

in #art3 years ago (edited)

counting.jpg

This work was painted in oil on canvas. The evident tick marks counted the days in a row I had cluster headaches while working on the painting. This piece no longer exists as I painted another picture over it. The new picture was better, but I'll save that for another post.

It's not always easy to listen to my unconscious. A great current example is @rstory. From its inception until now, I've felt like no one wanted to hear about this cryptocurrency of mine. Technical development has been riddled with problems. My unconscious seems to be sending me mixed messages on the matter. It's presenting the project as a dead end even as it motivates me to work on it.

For many years, I've operated a imprint called No Shirt Press that publishes obscure poetry and fiction. The imprint started out with my dad helping a friend turn his poetry into an saleable object. This was fun enough to inspire me to register the name and buy a big block of ISBNs. I put about $700 into it early on and have never made a penny from it.

With the possible exception of one poet, no one has ever been enthusiastic about No Shirt Press. The imprint isn't exciting. But it is likeable. Likable and a little annoying. I have to file quarterly reports with the state and haven't even been able to edit the website for years. Still, I'm perfectly happy with No Shirt Press.

How I feel about Rstory is similar to how I felt about No Shirt Press when it started. But with less direction. A publisher has the clear imperative to publish. Rstory has a less obvious path forward. I have good some ideas for it, but nothing's really coming together. Even finding someone to mint the coins on EOS is proving surprisingly challenging.

Should I give up on Rstory completely? Should I pursue it like No Shirt Press, purely for art sake? Maybe there's a third option. One that's more engaging.

Sort:  

Congratulations @mada! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 150 posts.
Your next target is to reach 200 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP