Red Abstract Oil Painting

in #art3 years ago

Red_Abstract.jpg

This work was painted in oil on wood. It hangs in my entryway.

Today, after hitting dead end after dead end, I gave up on finding help with creating my Rstory EOS token. So I started the process of creating this token on MyWish at a cost of about $250. The token contract has been stuck waiting for deployment for over ten hours as I write this.

Coincidentally, immediately after I used my email to create a MyWish account, I received a phishing email containing a bogus PayPal invoice as an attachment. I previewed the invoice, foolishly dialed the help line it displayed, and was sent to a call center where a guy with a thick accent tried to convince me to run commands on my machine. He told me that a hacker in California had hacked into my Ebay account and was making purchases. Then he asked me to open a command-line tool on my computer. I hung up and forwarded the phishing email to PayPal without downloading the bogus pdf.

It's a little maddening that I'm encountering so much resistance when all I want to do is create an EOS version of Rstory. MyWish is basically my last hope. Now I've paid them and am stuck waiting for them to deliver. In response to my request for support, a MyWish rep said token contracts are usually deployed within 20 minutes. So the ten hours and counting that I've been waiting is unusual. They're now apparently looking into the issue.

While waiting for this EOS contract deployment, I logged into Waves and brought the total number of Waves Rstory tokens up to 10B, in line with the 10B TUDE on Ethereum and the anticipated 10B Rstory on EOS. Then I attempted to consolidate these Waves tokens into my main account and couldn't do it. The tokens wouldn't transfer. Waves customer service said this was a known bug that should be fixed shortly. But what the hell??? I can't even transfer Rstory on Waves because their new site is buggy? Until now, Waves has been the most reliable network for Rstory.

Since its inception, Rstory has been plagued by mysterious problems like this. Every step of the way, unforeseen issues have arisen. The phishing attempt today while I was talking to customer support at both Waves and MyWish was an absurd distraction. But it was somehow in line with what I've come to expect while working on my token.

Maybe tomorrow's post will be all about an eventual success in using MyWish to create Rstory on EOS. Maybe Waves will fix its bug the day after. I'd like to see things play out like that.

Even if my crypto troubles persist, Rstory is first and foremost an art project. For all of its problems, I still revel in its creative potentials. The question of how to rebrand a marketing disaster needs to be answered. A logo needs to be created. These are things I can do while I wait for third parties to correct their malfunctions.