A Measure of Depth

in #art3 years ago

It has been too long, I have to catch up with posting my art,let's start with the most recent one. This is what I've been working on for the past month of two The drawing is made with Windows paint as usual. i prefer it for it simplicity and perphas some nostalgia. I think it has a unique look to it, though it may be just a feeling. I do not start my work with a separate sketch, but the drawing sort of grows from my initial lines into a finished piece. As problems arise i try and fix them, sometimes having to change quite a lot of the drawing. but more or less, the process is captured in the texture created by erasing and drawing again. It is a lengthy process and time wise his is one of my most involved pieces using this technique.

worms9.png

A Measure of Depth

This black and white digital drawing depicts a midsummer's night on a quiet lake. A thin fog is hovering above the water, forming white curtain in a wave like pattern over the opposite shoreline, partially covering the black silhouettes of trees and their reflection on the still surface.
in the front to the left, a dark hooded figure stands on a rowboat holding a staff. The figure is faced against a giant worm rising from the lake, towering high above the figure and covering the sun behind its massive frame. Its body is composed of segmented rings bulging with fat and Its mouth is made of three triangle shaped muscular flaps, which are now hanging relaxed, half open, but no doubt ready to swallow the person in front of it in an instant. It is as if there is an intense conversation going on between the two, but no words are to be heard.

I try to provide a description as if you couldn't see, but the interpretation part I leave open for the viewer at this point, I hope it inspires thought.

A Measure of Depth is available as 1/1 NFT on Makersplace

Sort:  

Very nice : made with windows paint and you came to these results, wow / incredible! I believe you when you say that it is time consuming 😄, "growing from lines" drawings are often the best in my opinion. Nice job

Oh, wow! So much detail!
And I really like the description, it sets the mood so well! ❤️

Thank you i'm glad to hear that 😊

The photo is nice and amazing to make it. There is a person ride boat and have animal.

There is indeed, thank you 😊

Very lovecraftian. I love it.

I am stunned with this piece. Wow!

Thank you Maxwell