Spring breaks

in #art4 years ago

I hope everyone has had a beautiful week.
Mine certainly has been exceptional. Let’s just get right into it. On Monday, I received news that I have been given a four months working grant from the Arts Promotion Centre Finland! That is my first major grant ever. Four months is relatively short amount when it comes to these things, but still it feels kind of like winning the lottery. I’ve been having so much cabbage stew this year and now I finally get to buy a bigger pot. I have an exhibition coming in January and this will certainly make it happen a lot easier. I’m very grateful and looking forward to dive into painting.

Meanwhile, I have been continuing to live stream my MS Paint drawings on various channels. I have been enjoying that process quite a lot, interacting with the few viewers I get and all that. I am not exactly a natural performer so there Is quite a lot to learn and overcome on many aspects. Besides that I don’t think I’ve had a stream without technical difficulties yet. This week I’ve been working on the Green Man, which is still not done. There was a dramatic change as I realized you one can’t smile and blow at the same time. I think it was more reminding me of winter than spring, so i ended up changing the expression:

37b.png

44b.png
I'm kind of delighting on how cringy it is, but let's see how it evolves from here. I will be streaming again tonight 18.00-20.00 UTC+3.

Then there is my Makersplace store which has just exploded in sales this weekend! Thanks to all who bought works, It is just amazing. Good ol’ @shortcut has contributed a lot with purchases, while being a maker in the scene himself for some time now. As I received my first ether from there this morning, I was set out to get this one piece I had been eyeing for a week atleast from Greg Notzelman, (also one of my first buyers), but I realized I had missed the first edition by 3 hours while I was sleeping. However, I got the second one and I’m really happy with that. It's like an old japanese postcard augmented with a very cyberpunk twist. Then I bought another one from @shortcut that stood out like an abstract painting, I had to look up how pixelsorting works out. So i now have a nft art collection. I'm not sure how to get the images or what the policy is but you can check them below

https://makersplace.com/mikkolyytinen/reboot-autumn-reflections-2-of-5-25548/
https://makersplace.com/mikkolyytinen/distant-shore-3-of-5-10368/

and my store of course:
https://www.makersplace.com/mikkolyytinen

Another major event, was this.I've been collecting rocks since last spring,as sort of meditation, and i've picked up quite a few nice ones. Now that the "season" is open I've been waiting for a good find and then this guy popped out. i can't quite tell what it is, i'll have to show i some people at the rock club.

kivi.jpg

rock.jpg

And as a bonus here's a look of my plants that i had to evacuate inside last weekend from the snow:

IMG_20200513_083410.jpg

And soon there were some flowers again:

IMG_20200515_073732.jpg

My little oak tree that i grew from acorn last year can stay outside with the japanese maple. who may feature another post.

IMG_20200517_154814.jpg

Sort:  

Really happy to read, that you're having an 'exceptional' week. Also quite happy about your Makersplace success. I definitely think, your MSPaint works are a great addition to the cryptoart sphere. That said, much thanks for buying an edition of my "Distant Shore". Supporting each other is still one of the most exciting mechanisms in the space and a lot of collaboration and cooperation going on. P.S.: I didn't know, that something like a "rock club" existed. Anyways, congrats on the grant as well. Way to go!

Thank you! Oh yes, stone and mineral club might avoid some confusion.. we actually have two of them in building where my studio is. This is the promised land of associations after all.

Concratilutations with the grant!

Thank you!