NFT Showroom Artist Spotlight: @almightymelon

in #art2 years ago



Q: Tell us a bit about yourself!

I have two names under which I produce art, one that came from gaming and the other from stickering. Although I have not done so in several years, I used to produce sticker art under the name LOOK! (stylised with dots in the 'O's). I put my stickers in cities on three continents. My earliest NFT artworks were adaptations of stickers.

I am also a gamer. All the content I made for gaming was under the name AlmightyMelon. When I made my Hive wallet, it was to play Splinterlands and I used this name. AlmightyMelon has become my handle since then for Discord also. To be honest, it seems like now that my art is primarily digitally distributed, the street artist LOOK! is being replaced by the NFT artist @almightymelon.

Here is a portrait of me, almightymelon. It is a remastered image from an original that I purchased over a decade ago by commission from someone whose concepts I enjoyed. Their name was Tarko Black, from memory, but I can't find them on the internet now to link them.


Q: What is your art background?

As well as sticker art, I have also made visual art in a physical form almost my whole life. My primary art form, really though, is writing and teaching poetry. Poetry informs all other media I work in.




For this reason, my style leans towards the conceptual. To me, conveying a concept, or framing it, or putting it on a pedestal: these things constitute art.




Q: How long have you been in cryptoart/ NFTs, how did you discover them and what has been your experience so far?

Two years. I read about using NFTs for art, and I wanted to try it. I was a Hive user from its beginning. I searched and found that one could mint art NFTs on Hive on NFT Showroom, and I applied.

My experience has been that there are more creators than collectors. Those who create need to collect more. We also need to hope that blockchain becomes more mainstream, so that conventional art collectors start making more purchases.



Q: Any new art or upcoming projects you would like to tease?

I am working on a series of New Zealand landscapes generated by AI from both noise and from photography. The photographs are of my surroundings here in New Zealand and also photographs of painted art works of this country.

With the help of my wife, who is quality control, I am gradually selecting, batching and processing them together. The final result will be a series of NFTs released at once, with a single copy of each that gives commercial rights.

I can't give you any progress images, however, because I'm not yet satisfied with the quality. The problem of showing AI in progress is an interesting one.



Q: What are your top three favorite pieces of art you have tokenized on NFT Showroom?

Illuminance

"Illuminance" is my most recent work, one in both acrylic paint and AI. Where I'm going.



Koru Tahi

"Koru Tahi" is photomontage and filtering. It is also found objects. It is the first of three.



Fuel

"Fuel" is repeated overlay. Also one of three. Also found objects. The earliest here.



Each Featured Spotlight artist will now also get their own popup gallery in cryptovoxels!

You can check out @almightymelon's cryptovoxel space Here




Find @almightymelon:

NFT Showroom:
https://nftshowroom.com/almightymelon/gallery
Hive (Personal):
https://peakd.com/@almightymelon
Hive (Splinterlands):
https://peakd.com/@archmage.courier
YouTube:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC80VEtPPmUmQ01A9eX3X9SA


Visit the site and browse art: https://nftshowroom.com/

You can follow us on
Twitter: https://twitter.com/NftShowroom
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/nftshowroom/
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC3iRvtv3A7EAGRcZMYGJmHw

Visit our virtual gallery in Cryptovoxels: NFT Showroom Exhibition

For any questions or support please visit us in discord NFT Showroom discord

blackfooterr.png

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Very much appreciate the feature.

I am still in the middle of my 'AI-modified New Zealand landscapes' series. I will mint them together as a set when they are complete.

Follow me at @almightymelon where I will post the creation details and brief at that time.

Thanks again, NFT Showroom.

Hi There!
Maybe You can help?!?!🤔
I want to sign up for NFT Showroom, I am having some problems, I believe understanding where to sign -up. I have a Hive account already, but I can't find where to sign-ups for NFT-Showrrom. The website sends me in a circle, probably works better if you have to sign-ups for Hive as well.???
I tried a discord search, but it found nothing...
You can check my account here, I hope it is enough...
I Thank You in advance for any and all help,
Have an Amazing Sunday!