My latest Acme Hemp Club Speed drawing : Alan Watts

in #art4 years ago (edited)

This is my latest speed drawing for the Acme Hemp Club Speed Drawing Challenge on TikTok and Smoke.io

Alan Watts Smoking his Pipe and talking about Nirvana, Birth and Death.

I found that they have some awesome 1 minute Recordings from Alan Watts Lectures on TikTok. I think I’m going to do a bunch of sketches and painting Timelapse videos with his Philosophy running in the background.

Hopefully some of the millions of Artists, filmmakers and creators on Tiktok come to check out Hive from the hashtags I’m using over there.

Source : https://terebess.hu/english/watts3.html

Psychedelics and Religious Experience by Alan Watts

(Originally appeared in the California Law Review,
Vol. 56, No. 1, January 1968, pp. 74-85.)

All forms of life and being are simply variations on a single theme: we are all in fact one being doing the same thing in as many different ways as possible. As the French proverb goes, plus ca change, plus c'est la meme chose (the more it varies, the more it is one). I see, further, that feeling threatened by the inevitability of death is really the same experience as feeling alive, and that as all beings are feeling this everywhere, they are all just as much "I" as myself. Yet the "I" feeling, to be felt at all, must always be a sensation relative to the "other"-to something beyond its control and experience . To be at all, it must begin and end. But the intellectual jump that mystical and psychedelic experiences make here is in enabling you to see that all these myriad I-centers are yourself---not, indeed, your personal and superficially conscious ego, but what Hindus call the paramatman, the Self of all selves. (3) As the retina enables us to see countless pulses of energy as a single light, so the mystical experience shows us innumerable individuals as a single Self.

... This may sound like megalomania or delusion of grandeur-but one sees quite clearly that all existence is a single energy, and that this energy is one's own being. Of course there is death as well as life, because energy is a pulsation, and just as waves must have both crests and troughs, the experience of existing must go on and off. Basically, therefore, there is simply nothing to worry about, because you yourself are the eternal energy of the universe playing hide- and-seek (off-and-on) with itself. At root, you are the Godhead, for God is all that there is. Quoting Isaiah just a little out of context: "I am the Lord, and there is none else. I form the light and create the darkness: I make peace, and create evil. I, the Lord, do all these things." This is the sense of the fundamental tenet of Hinduism, Tat tram asi---"THAT (i.e., "that subtle Being of which this whole universe is composed") art thou."

Alan Wilson Watts (6 January 1915 – 16 November 1973) was a British writer and speaker known for interpreting and popularising Buddhism, Taoism, and Hinduism for a Western audience. Born in Chislehurst, England, he moved to the United States in 1938 and began Zen training in New York.

Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alan_Watts#On_spiritual_and_social_identity

Sponsored by Acme Hemp Lab High CBD Hemp Cigars and Smoke.io:
https://acmehemplabs.com/store/?ref=Offgrid&model_number=Frodo

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @rehan12 and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!

Thank you very much. Appreciated.

This is lovely.

Thank you very much.

Come share your drawing videos on TikTok....make millions $$$$$

Starting my Tiktok today ;)

Awesome. I will go follow you there too. Star Wars will take over Tiktok.

Saw you unfollowed me thank for time you did follow
Britt

Oh... my thing showed I was not following you. So I followed. And it unfollowed.