Born Star - The ultimate Venus?

in #art4 years ago

As the Homo Ludens that I am, I naturally had to play with the words of my title again. If you exchange just one letter, you have what the main character here perhaps might have been, more than 500 years ago. But here it also means, that we are talking about the birth, both of Venus and the blockchain. The superstars of their time.

Venus was always present in my oeuvre. Particularly Botticelli's iconic figure inspired a number of my artworks, like the Grande Venusmachine of the Libellule Project "Hommage aux Maitres".

This rare digital artwork was originally created for a makersplace project about blockchain.

bornStar02.jpg


The figure is a detail from the famous painting "The Birth of Venus"

El_nacimiento_de_Venus,_por_Sandro_BotticelliMittel.jpg
Source


When Botticelli created his masterpiece, now one of best known paintings of all times, it might have been just as revolutionary as what we see on our computers today. For me the artistic parallel to blockchain technology. The dawn of a new era in art history!

I kidnapped the goddess into photoshop to create the main character of my piece. At first I had a very different palette in mind...

venusMittel.jpg

For the background I combined some machine parts with the dark area I defined for the moving chain elements.

grundMittel.jpg


To create a stronger historic reference, I added this public domain ornament:

10998953586_94e82512b9_o.jpg

Source


After that, I placed individual elements on separate layers, to prepare the animation.

chainMittel.jpg
bornStar_01_atlas_.png

The blockchain is represented by coins held together by chain links. I put it all back together in Adobe Animate for a first test run:

ezgif.comoptimize.gif


At this point I wasn't so happy with the mint/pink look anymore and decided to go for warm tones and make the chain elements stick out in a more gold color, to represent the creation of value. Going back and forth between Photoshop and Animate, I eventually got to the final version.

bornStar02_optimsmall.gif



This was then tokenized as

Born Star

on makersplace at
https://makersplace.com/reinhardschmid/born-star-1-of-1-10032/



I enjoy reading your comments!


If you like my work, of course I appreciate your upvotes and resteems


appendix-2_01.png
appendix-2_02.pngappendix-2_03.pngappendix-2_04.pngappendix-2_05.png


All photos/scans by me of my own artwork unless stated differently.

sig-2017-1.png

pfeil-3.png

See more of my work on BeScouted


My tokenized collectible art at

MakersPlace and Superrare



Cross posted to my cent account

Sort:  

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @georgeboya.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

A big cordial thank you for your kind attention!

Happy to see you posting again! xoxo !!!! This post has been included in my weekly curation Ocean of Art!

Hey! Thank you so much for stopping by and for featuring my piece in your exquisite weekly curation Ocean of Art :-)
Had to take a longer break for personal reasons. This is still a great bloging platform and I like to tell the background story of my art here.
Looks like I have a lot to catch up to, as I do notice some changes while I was gone 🙄


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you for liking my work :-)

welcome back.

Hey, great to see you. Looks like you took a break as well. Did you finally go to steemfest?

I couldn't go this time as well.

You should have done it that time you won the ticket!