Painting 1 - Coastal Scene - Work In Progress

in #art4 years ago (edited)

Developed-Cliff-Face-Design--robbieallenartist-2.jpg

Hello everyone,

This is where I'm at with my first painting, there's still much I'd like to do, but I'm putting this one on pause for now so I can begin to develop the other one, and also get to work on the Call Out design pages.

As I started working on the original concept sketch for this, I realised I wanted to expand the canvas to improve the composition. The mountains in the distance have faces carved into them, and at the moment, that giant blue mountain on the right is not a mountain, but actually the roots of a giant tree with its roots deep in the ocean! But I might change this.

I know I need to find a way to make my focal point stronger, the focal point isn't the lighthouse on the right, it is the rock and column structure center left with the birds flying around it. It is a 'meditation chamber' overlooking the ocean, and is supposed to have some kind of magical or energetic element to it.

You can view my previous sketches and designs for this project here: https://hive.blog/art/@robbieallenart/environment-design-box-of-mystery-art-fantasy-art-design

And here: https://hive.blog/illustration/@robbieallenart/atlantis-environment-design-part-2-art-illustration

More to come!

Sort:  

I kind of feel like blocking out your buildings in 3d because I'm sligthly puzzled by that perspective XD

Do you have a time limit that you need to keep on top of for this thing?

@ryivhnn thanks, but there wasn't enough time to make major changes like that unfortunately, I only had a few extra hours to finish this piece on top of the other painting and two pages of designs I had to complete. I know the perspective was bit skewed because of where I placed the vanishing points. I can always rework this later though for my own portfolio. Which are didn't look right to you?

That's a lot of work x_x

Screenshot_20200714_155942.png

It's these two corners, the bottom one moreso than the top one. I feel like they might be a bit high up.

👋 Hi @robbieallenart, I was flipping through the blockchain and stumbled on your work! You've been upvoted by Sketchbook / a community for design and creativity. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon.

Join the Sketchbook Community