Mexican skull characters with my style!

in #art4 years ago

Hello my friends from Steemit! I hope they are fine.
Today I bring you a dark issue that I wanted to face
A project about death.

This is a sample of my work as a character designer, where I was inspired by the skulls of Latin American culture, with the objective of representing “death” in a friendly and digestible manner, from a colorful and symbolic aspect. Concepts and elements such as the lovers of the Tarot Cards, other major arcana for the different states of death, the party, the “mariachi”, carnival, and Latin American madness were present among the characters as well.

References
The construction of the characters is based on the skeletons of the Mexican José Guadalupe Posada, and the Venezuelans Jacobo Borges and José Vivenes.

Color Studies
The color palette was extensive at the beginning, testing among the complementary colors of the chromatic circle, as well as triads and tetrads. An important color reference was the work of José Vivenes.

Process
I worked with digital programs such as ArtRage, Krita, and Photoshop. I first created linear drawings to develop the sketches, and then I applied digital color with the objective of creating a visual look similar to traditional painting.


I made more than 200 sketches to choose the ones I would take to the end!

And after working in photoshop for a while coloring I got some results like these!


Sometimes people think that designing a character is easy but it is a long process.

It is a small sample but I hope you enjoy it! :3

Sort:  

Congratulations @robertdartist! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.
You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I really like the color palette, kinda unusual to see pinks and peaches on a skeleton but it totally works. Cool post!

Thank you! I'm glad you think that. It can be difficult to color such a bleak subject.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

¡Es hermosisimo! me encanta. Me recuerda a un cuento llamado el pato y la muerte, pero tus ilustraciones me gustan muchísimo más.

Hoy me he convertido en admiradora de tu trabajo.

Espero seguir leyendo sobre ti.
Abrazos desde Caracas

Wow muchísimas gracias! No conocía ese cuento, lo busqué y me encantó! Me alegra bastante que te gusten mis ilustraciones, a mi me gustan mucho las tuyas.

Un abrazo grande desde Mérida :3

I'm really a fan of your style and I love that you added all this process, it really does take a long time! I included this post in my weekly curation Ocean of Art!

Thank you very much Julia you honor me!
I'm glad to know that you like my style
Thanks also for your weekly curation it's great! :3

Wow.... wonderful work. Welcome to Steemit.

Thank u offgridlife! :3