For the Holidays, I Created "The Black Parade" Themed Nutcracker Figures.

in #artlast year

I make things.

My partner is a fan of a particular rock band.

It's the holidays.

Here is what I came up with.


02.jpg

So, I decided that it would be fun to make nutcracker figured based on The Black Parade by My Chemical Romance. The idea is to make something that can be saved and used to decorate every year.

image.png

I dont have alot of tools or time to make these from scratch so I ordered a set of unpainted generic nutcrackers from Amazon.

01.jpg

I used my own paint though.


Gerard.

This nutcracker has a scepter item and I felt like it resembles a mic. So I left it it there.

a.jpg

The hat needs to go though. I need it for Bob later, so I didn't through it away.

b.jpg

Some sanding to make things smoother. Then I taped up the places I didn't want painted.

c.jpg

I'm so glad I bought a giant tube of black.
I used alot of black.

d.jpg

After a drying period, I threw some white on there for the details.

After that, I felt it okay to remove the facemask. lol

e.jpg

Always a knife in the back!

f.jpg

Red guts!

The partially painted head in the back is just for testing.

g.jpg

h.jpg

Some glue and some yarn for the hair!

j.jpg


This is Frank.

I skipped alot of steps here but I pretty much did the same process to all the figures. So here you see just the most interesting steps!

b.jpg

Ready to add hair.

a.jpg

c.jpg


Next is the drummer.

His name is Bob.

To start, off goes the hat. I also snapped off that mallet top and left a stick.

a.jpg

This is the hat from Gerard. I am sanding down the flat side to make it more smooth.

b.jpg

I didn't have any sparkly paint, but I borrowed some sparkly nail polish to do the job.

c.jpg

A white base coat on the hat first.

d.jpg

After drying I added a couple coats of the nail polish.

e.jpg

Poof! Now the hat is a drum! Pay no mind to the knights of ren in the background!

f.jpg

xxx

g.jpg

I didn't have yellow yarn, I had white, and plenty of glue.

h.jpg

I do have yellow sharpies though!, So now I have a blonde drummer.

i.jpg

BOOM!

j.jpg


On to Mikey.

I was really surprised at how easy it was to shape this little piece of wood.

a.jpg

More sanding and some gluing needed...

b.jpg

Needs a haircut.

c.jpg

There we go. Ready to rock.

d.jpg


Finally Ray.

That is a lot of hair.

a.jpg

So much.

b.jpg

After starting with the bass, I did these two guitars.

d.jpg

He still has more hair to go. This is just the base hair to hold the rest of it lol.

c.jpg

aaaaand mounted!

e.jpg

back stabba!

f.jpg

ready to crack some nuts?

g.jpg


I was testing things on this piece of wood and this pic looked goofy to me.

59.jpg



Here as a group...

a.jpg

All the basics...

b.jpg

unmasked

c.jpg

more painted details

d.jpg

hair added and instruments mounted...
bases painted

e.jpg



And now they pose for a photoshoot!

f.jpg

g.jpg

h.jpg


Okay here they are.

MCR Nutcrackers!

i.jpg


@SaintChristopher

[subscribelikefollowringthatbelllovemelovemeloveme]

Sort:  

Congratulations @saintchristopher! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 5 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 4
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Our Hive Power Delegations to the November PUM Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!